THE LIBRARY OF THE
THE COLLECTION OF
Allen A. Lloyd
UNIVERSITY OF N.C. AT CHAPEL HILL
This book may be kept out one month unless a recall
notice is sent to you. It must be brought to the North
Carolina Collection (in Wilson Library) for renewal.
Form No. A-369
HISTORY OF THE
CA., 1766 -1962
HISTORY OF THE
CA., 1766 - 1962
PAULINE O. LLOYD and ALLEN A. LLOYD
This book was conceived, written and published in a period of about
fourteen months. Such accomplishment would have been impossible
without the fine spirit of cooperation from Miss Rebecca Liner, James
Cheshire, Sr., R. R. Hooker, E. M. Lynch, A. H. Graham, Mrs. Gladys
Coley, Dalton Loftin, Mrs. Kathryn Knight, Mrs. S. F. Nicks, Dr. H. W.
Moore, Mrs. Virginia Gattis, Mrs. Lucy Mayfield Gattis, (Washington,
D. Cv), Mrs. Pauline Lloyd, Evelyn Lloyd, Dr. C. E. Maddry, J. Clyde
Ray and Rev. S. T. Kimbrough, Jr. of the Methodist Church .
From: Dickerson's Chapel: Rev. A. J. Holman, Rev. P. 0. James,
Harold Daye, Willis Lipscomb, Mrs. Agnes Whitted, Mrs. Merinda Mc-
Pherson, Gaither Collins, and Edgar Collins.
From: St. Matthew's Episcopal Church— Rev. L. W. Pettit, J. G.
Webb, and James Cheshire, Sr.
From: Mount Bright Baptist Church — Rev. Fred J. Boddie, Jr., Rev.
H. B. Perry, Ed Whitted, Clyde Whitted, and Hampton Long.
From: Hillsborough Baptist Church— Dr. C. E. Maddry, Rev. B. C.
Cresson, Rev. E. G. Holt, Wm. Coleman, M. F. Lloyd, Mrs. Bun Turner,
Sr., and John Turner.
From: Hillsborough Presbyterian Church — Rev. J. H. Wade, Mrs.
Alec Anderson, James Cheshire, Sr., R. R. Hooker, and Edwin Lynch.
From: Mebane Chapel — Mrs. Grace Obie and Mrs. Merinda McFher-
Also Mrs. Irene Pender and Mrs. Alfred Engstrom have helped in
The history covers over two hundred years which is a long sweep
of time. A lot of hard work has gone into this "History of the Churches
The preachers of the churches of our town have shown a fine spirit
of cooperation in every way. We want to extend our thanks to the many
people who uncovered )and made available to us the many fine illustra-
tions which so enrich this history.
Orange County was formed in 1752 from the western portions of
Granville, Johnston, and Bladen Counties, counties that experienced phe-
nomenal growth in population after 1740. Its formation, in a time of
poor roads and great distances, was a matter of necessity for the western
In 1753, the eastern boundary of Orange was twenty miles west of
Granville County Courthouse, from the Virginia line south to the Neuse
During colonial days a frontier county had no definite western
boundary; it extended as far west as there were settlers. The creation
of Rowan County in 1753 gave Orange its first definite boundary.
Hillsborough was laid off in 1754 by William Churton on the north
bank of Eno River. The town contained about four hundred acres of
land. It was colled Orange, but its name was changed to Corbinton in
a very short time, for Francis Corbin. On Nov. 20, 1759, it was in-
corporated under the name of Childsburg. In 1766 the name was changed
^o Hillsborough, complimentary to the Earl of Hillsborough.
The only church in the town, at about this time, stood on the site
of the present Presbyerian Church. It was erected by persons of the
"Episcopal persuasion". In 1784 it was made a school and free meeting
house, with the preference given to Episcopal ministers. Later it was
made famous as the place at which the first sliate convention — to con-
sider the proposed Federal Constitution — met, July, 1788.
Within the mile-square of the Town of Hillsborough, there have been
as many as eight churches, as follows:
1. First Baptist Church — organized Nov. 18, 1853 in the old Dicker-
son's Chapel, then the Baptist Church.
2. Mount Bright Baptist Church— organized 1866.
3. Dickerson's Chapel A.M.E. Church. Organized 1851. The building
was once the Orange County Courthouse and later the Hillsborough
4. St. Matthew's Episcopal Church, organized Aug. 24, 1824.
5. Mebane Chapel — organized 1913.
6. Hillsborough Methodist Church— organized in 1807.
7. Hillsborough Presbyterian Church— organized 1816.
8. Presbyterian Church for "Colored People"— organized about 1877.
The oldest church building in town is the Dickerson's Chapel. It
was the third courthouse of Orange County. The second district court-
house, it was authorized by the legislature in 1790. Was first used as a
church by the white Baptists of Hillsborough in 1853. They bought the
old courthouse and moved it up the street to the corner of Churton and
Queen Streets. The Baptists sold the building to George Bishop— about
1862. He sold it to the "friends of the colored free men" of Hillsborough.
The members of Dickerson's Chapel bought the building in 1886. Rev.
Job Berry was the first pastor of the church.
Mount Bright Baptist Church was organized in the year 1866. It was
organized in the Hillsborough Baptist Church by the help of the pastor
and members of the church. Mount Bright Church was named in honor
of its first pastor, the Rev. Alfred E. Bright. The present site was given
to the group by the widow of the Honorable William Graham, Governor
of North Carolina, 1845. The church was erected on the present site
Hillsborough Methodist Church was organized about 1807. The first
preaching services were held in the old courthouse. The first church was
built of wood, and located on Lot No. 102, near the home of Mrs. Odell
Clayton. The second church was built with brick on the land bought
from Mr. H. N. Brown.
Mebane Chapel was organized in 1913. Built on the land obtained
from Abe and Annie B. Mebane, it was located in the western part of
Presbyterian Church for "colored people" was organized about 1877.
The church was built on the land obtained from George W. Brodie and
Charlotte L. Brodie. The church was located on the corner of Orange
and Wake Streets.
Hillsborough Presbyterian Church was built about 1816 of English
brick to replace an old structure erected by colonial Episcopalians. It is
not known who organized this church. The cemetery near the church
was laid out in 1754. The Presbyterian Church ground served as a
meeting place for 184 delegates from every county in the colony of N. C.
to discuss matters of government, taxation, military strength, etc.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH 16
THE MT. BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH 42
DICKERSON'S CHAPEL A.M.E. CHURCH 52
ST. MATTHEWS EPISCOPAL CHURCH 58
MEBANE CHAPEL OF HILLSBORO 75
THE HILLSBOROUGH METHODIST CHURCH 78
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF HILLSBOROUGH 122
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH FOR COLORED PEOPLE 146
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
THE FIRS^it^PSBH^N CHURCH 11, 13
MAP OF HILLSBOROUGH 14
MAP OF ORANGE COUNTY 15
THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH 17, 29, 31-38
MOUNT BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH 40-51
DIOKERSON'S CHAPEL A.M.E. CHURCH 54, 55
ST. MATTHEWS EPISCOPAL CHURCH 58, 59, 69-74
MEBANE CHAPEL OF HILLSBOROUGH 77
HILLSBOROUGH METHODIST CHURCH 81,83, 85, 86, 89, 93, 96, 97
ST. MATTHEWS EPISCOPAL CHURCH 113
101, 102, 105, 112, 118-121
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF 'HILLSBOROUGH 123, 124, 131-137,
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH FOR COLORED PEOPLE 148
^>3^- FIRST HILLSBOROUGH CHURCH— 1776
(Old Town Clock in Steeple)
Church of England or the Episcopal Church.
Built 1766 by the Episcopalians under the Reverend George Mickle-
john, appointed to the Parish by Governor Tyron. It was located on the
corner of Churton and Tyron Streets. After the Rev. Micklejohn, there
are no records that the parish had a resident minister, and the church
and grounds passed to the Presbyterians.
The Constitutional Convention met in this building in the year 1788.
They declined to adopt the Constitution at this time.
The plans for the building were found in Mr. Bailey's papers at the
University of North Carolina. Building drawn by Mrs. Irene Pender, Cedar
Grove, N. C.
STATE CONVENTION— JULY 21, 1788
Hillsborough was too small to laccommodate those who had come to
the convention. Many of the two hundred and eighty delegates had
brought their wives and children. Other men from every part of the
state had streamed into the little town to attend what everyone knew
would be a momentous event in the history of North Carolina. They
knew that there was scant chance they could see even one session of
the convention. They hoped merely to hear the reports given in the
taverns and to talk to the delegates. William Hooper invited several
men to stay at his home. Adam Rutledge, Johnston, and Iredell were
invited to stay at William Hooper's home.
Until the year 1784, the town clock was located in the beautiful
steeple of the Church of Hillsborough. In front of the church and along
the road leading to it stood crowds of people, waiting to see the formal
procession of convention delegates. All types and classes were repre-
sented. Children perched on the high brick wall or crouched on the
grass by the roadside. The town clock boomed out eleven strokes. A
band started to play, and the procession moved toward the church.
The last day of the convention, the morning was fair and the old
church was crowded. The women's clothes made the balconies gay with
color. The delegates were seated in pews once occupied by royal Gov-
ernors and their ladies, by Lord Cornwallis and his officers.
The Reverend David Caldwell stepped forward iand prayed for the
blessings of God on the men seated. Samuel Johnston was president of
the convention. At the end of the convention, North Carolina had neither
ratified nor rejected the constitution. Alone among the states she had
said, "Secure our rights".
(From: Queen's Gift — Inglis Fletcher)
North Carolina ratified the new constitution at the convention at
Fayetteville in 1789. Rev. David Caldwell was a most sympathetic adviser
of the Regulators and voiced the sentiments of pure democracy in the
Halifax Convention which framed the constitution of 1776.
Plans for the Inside of the First Church
Hillsborough, N. C. — 1766
Inc Ola fou/rv
's *—. ' .
W__Zfc £ Common*
Site of ±
First Ctwck Q
Map of Orange County
Drawn by George W. Tate
HISTORY OF THE FIRST BAPTIST
The Sanctuary of the Baptist Church, Hillsborough, N. C, 1962
Baptists have churches and missions throughout the world. In the
United States Baptists have formed three large groups — American (for-
merly called Northern), Southern, and Negro Baptists. There are 17
smaller groups or branches. Southern Baptists in the United States num-
ber more than 9 million. The Baptists have about sixty thousand churches
in the U. S. Baptist in Canada number more than 483,000.
In the matter of church government the Baptists do not submit to
any central oversight. Each congregation stands on its own, but at an
early time the Baptists recognized the value of voluntary association and
both local and state associations now exist. The Baptist denomniation
had ministers and churches in the newly created Orange County about
as early as the Presbyterians and other dissenters.
The great division of the Baptists came in 1845 and, like the Method-
ists and Episcopal Church, was over the question of slavery. The South-
erners "seceded" and formed their own Southern Baptist Convention
in order to carry on more effectively the work of the Southern Baptist
churches. This breach has not yet been mended.
The Baptists have insisted upon freedom of thought and expression
in pulpit and pew; this had made this denomination one of the most
democratic religious bodies in America, and one in which liberal and
conservative doctrines are preached freely. Today they constitute the
largest Protestant group in the United States and the largest religious
group in the State of North Carolina.
The Baptist Church was organized no November 19, 1853. From the
best information obtainable, it seems that the first Baptist preacher to
hold services in Hillsborough was the Reverend Elias Dodson, a native of
Virginia and a graduate of the College of William and Mary. He preached
in the Courthouse around 1844. When the new Courthuose was built
in 1845, he bought the old Courthouse and moved it up the street to
the corner of Churton and Queen Streets. This became the First Baptist
Church of Hillsborough. The church Was organized in this building on
November 19, 1853. The organizing council consisted of the Rev. T. W.
Toby, Rev. Amos Jones, Jr., Rev. A. D. Blackwood, and Deacons T. G.
Faucette of Mt. Hermon Church, William Ward of Mars Hill, Sidney Lea
of Yanceyville, and A. Oldham of Cane Creek.
The sermon was preached by the Rev. T. W. Toby who had been a
missionary in China, but who had recently returned to America because
of the illness of his wife.
The Council was organized with the election of Rev. T. W. Toby
as moderator and Rev. A. D. Blackwood as clerk.
Mrs. Susan W. Graham, wife of Governor William A. Graham, joined
the church by letter November 19, 1853.
On November 19, the new church met in conference and H. G.
Stroud was elected clerk and John Cheek and H. C. Stroud were elected
On February 26, 1854, the church called Rev. A. Jones as pastor.
He accepted the call. The church had a total of 29 pastors in 100 years.
FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH, HILLSBOROUGH
Minister Called Resigned
.varon Jones, Jr. - Feb. 1854
Thomas J. Landsell ...Oct. 1855 .
Moses Baldwin Jan. 1857 *.
John Mitchell Oct. 1857 Feb. 1862
J. L. Carroll June 1862 Dec. 1863
No Pastor Jan. 1864 Jan. 1866
N. W. Wilson Jan. 1866
W. R. Gwaltney ..... Nov. 1867 Jan. 1872
F. H. Jones Oct. 1872 Oct. 1873
W. B. Harrell Jan. 1875 Dec. 1877
No Pastor Jan. 1877 Feb. 1880
W. L. Wright Feb. 1880 Oct. 1885
C. C. Newton Dec. 1886
G. W. Harmon __ ...Jan. 1889 May 1890
No Pastor May 1890 „. Apr. 1896
N. B. Cobb Apr. 1896 May 1899
Wade D. Bostic Sept. 1899
Charles E. Maddry ...Dec. 1901 Aug. 1904
A. C. Hamby Aug. 1904 Sept. 1906
Ira E. D. Andrews Sept. 1906 Oct. 1907
John H. Hocutt Oct. 1907 Dec. 1910
J. R. Greene Jan. 1911 Nov. 1915
S. W. Oldham .......Jan 1916 Jan. 1922
W. R. Beach Mar. 1922 Feb. 1924
J. R. Cantrell May 1924 Dec. 1927
C. A. Caldwell May 1928 May 1937
A. K. Cheek July 1937 ...Sept. 1943
W. W. Abernathy Dec. 1943 . 1948
Paul Deaton 1948 1949
Charles E. Maddry 1950 or 51 June 1957
Bruce C. Cresson June 1957 Sept. 1961
E. G. Holt May 1962
DEACONS FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
H. C. Stroud
Alfred F. Stroud
J. E. Jones
P. H. Smith
W. H. Walker
S. W. Andrews
1853 A. B. Summey
J. J. Ward
W. C. Gates
TO A. S. Mitchell
J. M. Carr
J. M. Lloyd
1950 J. H. Evans
0. W. Cain
J. E. Sharpe
B. G. Turner, Sr.
W. B. Coleman
R. B. Todd
M. P. Lloyd
W. H. Walker, A. J. Snipes, Sr., J. M. Carr, and Bunn Turner, Sr.
PREACHERS ORDAINED IN HILLSBOROUGH CHURCH
In October, 1900 the Hillsborough Baptist Church ordained Robert
P. Walker to the Gospel Ministry.
J. G. Goodwin, Jr., was ordained May 11, 1952 in the Hillsborough
Baptist Church. Later he has become a missionary in Korea.
Paul Goodwin, another member of the church is now minister of
music at the First Baptist Church, Bollinger, Tetfas.
The following have served the church as church clerks: H. G. Strowd,
J. E. Jones, J. M. Blackwood, J. E. Jones, J. M. Blackwood, J. E. Jones,
M. W. McCallum, Dr. J. S. Spurgeon, J. H. EVans, J. J. Ward, M. P.
Lloyd, W. B. Coleman, J. H. Culbreth, Mrs. James Rippey, James P. All-
red, Sr., and Mrs. J. L. Rosemond.
CHURCH HOUSE SOLD
The church sold the house and lot on Churton and Queen Streets in
1862, ias described in the following document as recorded in the office
of the Register of Deeds of Orange County:
This indenture made the 18th day of August A.D., 1862, between
IH. Q. Strowd, John Cheek, and William Ward, Trustees of the
Baptist Church in the town of Hillsborough, and George Bishop
of the Town of Newberne, County of Craven, State of North Carolina
witnesseth that said H. C. Strowd, John Cheek, William Ward,
Trustees for and in consideration of the sum of Seven Hundred and
Fifty Dollars to them in hand paid the receipt whereof is hereby
acknowledged hath given, granted, bargained, and sold, and conveyed
and by these present doth give, grant, bargain and sell and convey
to the said George Bishop heirs and assign a certain lot or parcel
of land containing one-half of three-fourths of an acre more or less
and being in the Town of Hillsborough known as the Old Baptist
Church Lot bounded as follows: on the West by Churton Street, on
the North by Queen Street, on the East by Margaret. Wall, and on the
South by Josiah Turner it being a part of lot No. 80 in the Town of
Hillsborough according to the plan of said town. To have and to hold
all the aforesaid lot or parcel of land with the appurtenances to
the said George Bishop his heirs and assign forever against the
claims of all persons whatsoever and they do further covenant that
the said H. C. Strowd, John Cheek, and William Ward is seized of
the premises in fee simple and has power to make and convey such
an estate by this indenture and has done the same by these presents.
In Witness Whereof the said parties of the first part have
hereunto set their hands and seals the day and year above written.
H. C. Strowd (Seal) Signed, sealed, and delivered
John Cheek (Seal) in presence of John Turner.
Wm. Ward (Seal)
George Bishop of Newbern sold the house and lot to Ellerton P.
Morris, Anthony M. Krinton, and Richard Cadbery of Philadelphia for
the sum of twelve hundred dollars. These men are designated as "friends
of the colored free man" of Hillsborough. The church became the home
of the colored Methodist Church of Hillsborough later, and continues as
such until this day.
The Baptist Church sometime between 1854 and 1860 purchased from
W. J. Freeland the lot upon which the present church stands. The lot
contains two acres and extends from Margaret Lane along Wake Street
to King Street. The cornerstone of the new church was laid in 1860. The
architect was W. M. Percival and the builder was D. Kistler. The build-
ing committee was composed of J. M. Mitchell, J. M. Cheek, and H. C.
Strowd. The church was to cost $4,600. It seems from the imperfect
record that trouble arose with the builder over the imperfection in the
brick work. In the meantime, the Civil War engulfed the South in the
Spring of 1861, and the church lost the money saved for the building in
worthless Confederate bonds and in the failure of the Hillsborough Sav-
From another record, it states that the land for the church was
given by Mrs. Susan Washington Graham.
Mrs. Susan W. Graham did a great deal of work for the church as
long as she was a member. In 1860, her donation of two thousand dollars,
together with several liberal subscriptions from friends, induced the
Baptists of Hillsborough to undertake the erection of a church to cost
$4,600.00. Mrs. Graham wrote letters to the members asking them to
contribute one dollar for this purpose.
In the summer of 1952, under the leadership of Dr. Charles E.
Maddry, the church launched the movement to erect an educational
building. The building cost about 85 thousand dollars.
It is not known when the Baptists moved into the new building. It
must have been around 1864. The evidence goes to show that the church
worshipped in the basement of the new church for some years. Also the
record shows that the building was completed by John Berry, a well
known architect and builder.
Rev. T. M. Jordan often preached to the colored people (slaves) of
Hillsborough in the basement of the Baptist Church. One night they
gave him so much Confederate money that he had to carry it home tied
up in his handkerchief. He married and baptized many of the colored
members. Around the year 1868, the colored members took letters and
organized a church of their own. Today the colored Baptist Church
is one of the largest churches in Hillsborough in its membership. They
have a splendid meeting house and a good pastor.
Dr. George W. Purefoy of Chapel Hill helped in the work of the
Baptist Church in Hillsborough on one occasion in the early days of
the church. He was well educated, and a Baptist of the strictest sort.
He was a large slave-owner and a noted fox hunter. He boasted that
he hunted foxes in the winter season, and Methodists in the summer.
When the Church was organized in 1853, it joined the Beulah Asso-
ciation; later the church joined te Mt. Zion Association, which was
organized at Mt. Moriah Church.
MEMBERSHIP' ROLL OF FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
Hillsboro, N. C.
Crabtree, William T.
Allred, Mrs. Miriam
Allred, James F., Jr.
Allred, T. I.
Baity, Nancy H.
Baldwin, Mrs. Guy R.
Baldwin, Guy H., Jr.
Barber, Lavarrah M.
Barbour, Mrs. Lillie
Basile, Mrs. Carol H.
Baucom, H. S.
Baucom, Betty Jane
Beck, B. E.
Beck, Mrs. B. E.
Bivins, Mrs. Alda
Bivins, John R.
Bivins, Mrs. Elizabeth
Bivins, R. Edgar
Bivins, Mrs. R. Edgar
Bivins, Pamela Jean
Blackwelder, Mrs. Modena
Blake, Mrs. Fred
Blake, Fred, Jr.
Boggs, Mrs. L. C.
Boone, Fred A.
Boone, Mrs. Fred A.
Brown, Mrs. H. L.
Bruno, Mrs. Tony
Burkhead, Mrs. Leon
Byrd, Earl J.
Byrd, Mrs. Earl J.
Crabtree, A. W.
Crabtree, Mrs. A. W.
Crabtree, Mrs. E. W.
Crabtree, Georgia Leigh
Crabtree, Mrs. Walter
Crabtree, William Edward
Crabtree, Mrs. Willaim T.
Crawford, Mrs. Bertha
Crawford, Charles M.
Crawford, Charles M., Jr.
Crawford, Mrs. Ernest
Crawford, Mrs. Roy D.
Culbreth, J. Harold
Culbreth, Mrs. J. Harold
Caldwell, Mrs. C. A.
Carr, Mrs. C. E.
Carr, Julian W.
Carroll, Mrs. Mary Alice
Gates, M. L.
Champion, Julious Edward
Clark, Mrs. Pat S.
Clayton, W. John
Clayton, Mrs. W. John
Cole, Mrs. A. C.
Cole, Mrs. Charlotte
Coleman, H. G., Sr.
Coleman, Mrs. H. G., Sr.
Coleman, H. G., Jr.
Coleman, W. B.
Coleman, Mrs. W. B.
Collins, Mrs. Bob
Collins, J. S.
Collins, Mrs. J. S.
Compton, Mrs. Carolyn S.
Davis, Mrs. J. A.
Delfs, Mrs. Jacequeline
Edwins, Rev. and Mrs. S.
Edmonds, Mr. and Mrs. Tom
Faulkner, Betty Jean
Faulkner, Dorothy Lee
Faulkner, Martha Lou
Frederick, J. R.
Gardner, Ernest D.
Gates, Mrs. Coy
Goodwin, Mrs. J. G., Sr.
Gray, Mrs. Fred
Greason, Mrs. H. K., Sr.
Greason, H. K., Jr.
Greene, Mrs. Cyrus
Haithcock, Worth B.
Haithcock, Mrs. Worth B.
Hastings, Mrs. Worth B.
Hastings, Mrs. Bobby
Hawkins, Mrs. Betty Sue
Hawkins, Dathene S.
Hayes, Mrs. Arthur
Hayes, Betty June
Hayes, Mrs. Robbie
Hines, Mrs. Charlie
Hodul, Mrs. Paul
Hopper, E. S.
Hopper, Mrs. E. S.
Horn, Mrs. Emma
Holt, Rev. Glenn
Holt, Mrs. Glenn
Horton. Jo Ann
Howard, Mrs. Alma
Howard, Mary Alice
Jackson, John A.
Kahn, Mrs. Nancy
Kennedy, W. E.
Kennedy, Mrs. W. E.
Knight, Mrs. Bobby
Knight, Mrs. J. W.
Larkins, Mrs. John D., Sr.
Lloyd, Gary W.
Lloyd, Mrs. Gary
Lloyd, Mitchell, Sr.
Lloyd, Mrs. Mitchell, Sr.
Lloyd, Mitchell, Jr.
Lloyd, Mrs. Mitchell, Jr.
Lloyd, Myron P.
Lloyd, Mrs. Myron P.
Long, Mrs. Thelma L.
Maddry, Mrs. Charles E.
Mason, R. G.
Mason, Mrs. R. G.
Mangum, Mrs. Clarence
McBane, G. C.
McBane, Mrs. G. C.
McBane, G. C, Jr.
McBane, Mrs. Sylvia S
McDade, Mrs. W. P.
McDade, Mrs. Wayne
Micol, Mrs. Myrna H.
Midgett, Mrs. J. B.
Mitchell, A. L.
Mitchell, Mrs. A. L.
Mitchell, Mrs. A. S.
Mitchell, Billy R.
Mitchell, Mrs. Juanita
Mitchell, W. M.
Murray, Mrs. Ed
Neighbors, Mrs. John
Newman, Mrs. C. L.
Nicholas, Mrs. Yvonne
Parker, Mrs. Randolph
Phipps, Sarah Puryear
Reeves, Mrs. Marlene
Rittenhouse, Mrs. Jim
Rittenhouse, Mrs. W. H.
Rosemond, J. L.
Rosemond, Mrs. J. L.
Ross, Mrs. Coleen
Ray, Mrs. Catherine C.
Ray, S. Coley
Ray, Mrs. S. Coley
Raynor, Mrs. R. J.
Reeves, Paul J., Sr.
Reeves, Mrs. Paul J., Sr.
Richmond, Mrs. Phyllis
Riley, Mrs. Otto
Riley, Wilma Jean
Rippy, Mrs. James
Roberson, Mrs. Clarence
Roberts, Mrs. Clara
Roberts, Mrs. A.
Roberts, Mrs. Dufford
Roberts, Mrs. Paul
Roberts, Joyce Ann
Roberts, Mrs. Vivian S.
Rose, Mrs. Merle M.
Sykes, Mrs. Philip
Sykes, Philip, Jr.
Scearse, Mrs. L. L.
Scott, Mrs. Clyde H.
Scott, Mrs. Curl is
Scott, Mrs. Roland
Scott, Mrs. W. A.
Sharpe, Fred S.
Sharpe, Mrs. Fred S.
Shelton, Mrs. Paul
Smith, Mrs. George
Snipes, A. J., Sr.
Snipes, Mrs. A. J., Sr.
Snipes, A. J., Jr.
Snipes, Mrs. A. J., Jr.
Sparrow, Betty Mae
Spurgeon, Mrs. J. S.
Spurgeon, Mrs. George
Stone, Mrs. J. T.
Spry, Mr. Doyle
Strayhorn, Mrs. H. H.
Strayhorn, Mrs. Lalah
Styers, T. 0.
Styers, Mrs. T. 0.
Summey, Mrs. Osbunn
Tapp, Mrs. George
Teal, Mrs. Charlie
Thompson, Mrs. Reid
Thompson, Mrs. T. A.
Toler, Mrs. John
Tolar, Mrs. Rodney
Turner, Mrs. H. G., Sr.
Turner, B. G., Jr.
Turner, John S., Sr.
Turner, Mrs. John S.,
Turner, John, Jr.
Vincent, Mrs. Charlie
Walker, W. H.
Walker, Mrs. W. H.
Walters, Mrs. C. I.
Walters, Mrs. Dwight
Walters, Mary David
Watkins, Mrs. Allen
Watkins, Mrs. Herbert
Whaley, Mrs. Julian
Whittington, Mrs. Rebecca
Wilkie, Mrs. Callie
Williams, Mrs. Nannie
Worrell, Mrs. W. M.
Worrell, Linda Sue
REV. CHARLES E. MADDRY
Dr. Maddry was born April 10, 1876, in a three-room log house. It
was situated in a large grove of beautiful trees. He had five sisters and
three brothers. One girl died in infancy. Eight grew to adulthood. His
home was located three miles north of Chapel Hill on the old Hillsboro
Road, known in recent years as the Airport Road.
Dr. Maddry's grandmother was a Presbyterian and his grandfather
a Baptist. They lived in a log house two and one-half miles north of
Chapel Hill. His grandmother believed strictly in keeping the Lord's
Day holy. All work on the farm had to be finished by Saturday noon.
All food was prepared on Saturday and nothing cooked on Sunday except
that water was boiled for making coffee. The reading of the "Word of
God was the natural and accepted practice in most homes in the com-
The counties of the state were divided into large school districts.
Under the law a schoolhouse was built somewhere near the center of
each district. These houses were small and furnished with rough seats
made of oak slabs with holes bored in them. Legs fashioned from pieces
of split timber were inserted into the holes. The school, in session for
some two months after the crops were laid by, or during January and
February, was taught Iby some itenerant schoolmaster, who usually
boarded with his pupils
The curriculum of the school was usually limited to the three R's —
reading, arithmetic, and writing.
In the year 1896, Dr. Maddry was twenty years of age. After "laying
by" the crops, his father informed him that he was "setting him free"
and that he would give him the rest of his time, until he was twenty-one
years of age. His father expressed the hope that he would be able to
go to school but was unable to help him. He attended a preparatory
school in Chapel Hill, taught by Professor J. W. Canada of Summerfield,
Guilford County. He had no money, and he cut wood to pay his way.
Dr. Maddry entered the University of North Carolina in the year
1898. He worked hard at several types of work to earn enough money
to pay his expenses at the University. Because of debt and lack of neces-
sary funds, he was compelled to drop out of school. After a year of hard
work as county superintendent and pastor of five churches, he re-entered
in January as a member of the class of 1903. During this time, he carried
on the church work at Hillsborough and near-by Mars Hill, preaching
three times each month.
Dr. Maddry attended the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary at
Louisville, Kentucky, in 1906.
Mr. Edmund Strudwick, president of the South Atlantic Life In-
surance Company of Richmond, Virginia, loaned Dr. Maddry some money
for expenses while in the seminary. When Dr. Maddry sent the first pay-
ment on the notes, he received a gracious letter saying that he need not
send any further payments and enclosed the cancelled notes.
On May 2, 1906, Dr. Maddry married Emma Parker, daughter of
T. B. Parker and Penelope Alderman Parker, in the Baptist Church in
Hillsborough. The ceremony was performed by Dr. Hight C. Moore, a
relative of the bride, and the pastor of the church, Rev. A. C. Hamby.
Dr. W. P. Powell, a seminary classmate, and for many years pastor of
the First Baptist Church of Nashville, Tennessee, was best man.
Dr. Maddry and his wife began keeping house in Greensboro on
Rankin Street. On December 13, 1907, his daughter, Katherine, was born.
Dr. Maddry accepted the call to preach in Raleigh on the first Sunday
in December, 1911, at the Tabernacle Baptist Church.
He reached Austin, Texas, June 1, 1916, and was met at the train
by Judge John C. Towne, Dean of the University Law School. His wife
and little girl stayed in Raleigh until early in September. Dr. Maddry
preached his initial sermon on the first Sunday in June, 1916. Thus he
became the pastor of the University Church, Austin, Texas.
On January 1, 1921, he became the secretary of the North Carolina
Baptist State Convention.
Next, he entered upon his duties as the Executive Secretary of the
Foreign Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention, Monday,
January 2, 1933. Dr. Maddry served 12 years and 4 months, from 1933
to 1945. Early in June, 1934, he started visiting European mission fields.
His duty was to organize the work and to induce the churches to launch
a worthy program of self-support and to make an honest effort toward
evangelism and expansion.
On January 4, 1935, Mr. and Mrs. Maddry sailed from San Francisco
on the Dollar Line, "S.S. President Johnson," for a visit of seven months
with missions and churches in the Orient. Dr. and Mrs. J. B. Weather-
spoon, of the Southern Baptist Seminary at Louisville accompanied them.
Reaching Kobe on January 24, 1935, they were met by Dr. W. Harvey
Clarks, senior missionary in Japan.
In May, 1936, the Foreign Mission Board authorized the Executive
Secretary to visit the missions in South America. The group consisted of
Dr. W. C. Taylor, secretary for the work in Latin America; Mrs. Taylor
and their twelve-year old daughter, Betty; Mrs. Maddry; and Miss Mary
Shepherd, secretary to Dr. Taylor. They visited Brazil for six weeks, then
Uruguay. The Republic of Uruguay is a small country, has managed to
remain one of the most democratic and progressive states in all of South
The next stop of their mission tour was Argentina. The principal
cities are Buenos Aires and Rosario, with 461,688 inhabitants. The popu-
lation of Buenos Aires was 300,371. "*-£
They crossed the Andes by Pan-American Airlines. They reached
the Ibeautiful capital of Chile, Santiago, which is a city of 1,161,633 in-
habitants. The Baptists had laid a splendid foundation in Chile. The
domination of the Catholic Church over the masses of the population is
slowly, but surely, being broken.
Accompanied by Mrs. J. B. Boatwright of South Carolina, Dr. and
Mrs. M. T. Andrews of Texas, Dr. and Mrs. Maddry sailed from New York
on May 24, 1935. They arrived in West Africa on June 30.
Dr. Maddry left New York on the Queen Mary in the middle of
November, 1938, and landed at Cherbourg, France. After several days,
he went aboard an English liner bound for Bombay, India. He sailed from
Bombay January 5, 1939.
On January 1, 1902, Dr. Maddry began his ministry as pastor of the
Baptist Church in Hillsboro, the county seat of Orange County. At this
time, there were only twenty-one members. By 1952, the church had grown
to a membership of something over two hundred members and was able
to pay an adequate salary together with a comfortable parsonage.
He retired as Executive ..Secretary of Foreign Mission Board in 1945
After retirement, Dr. Maddry became "home-sick" for the pastorate.
He was invited to come to Hillsborough as interim pastor. Dr. Maddrj
accepted and came with the expectation of staying a few months. He
continued to stay here; the congregation increased, the financial con-
tributions of the church doubled, and many new members had been
baptized into the fellowship of the church. The church was organized on
November 3, 1853, and in November, 1953, they celebrated the centennial.
The new building was completed, and it was a great occasion in the
life of the church.
Dr. Maddry preached fifty-three years, completing the "circle," and
finished his earthly ministry here where he began in 1901. He is the
greatest preacher that has ever lived in Hillsborough, North Carolina.
Died Sept. 17, 1962. Funeral Hillsborough Baptist Church, Sept. 19 1962.,
10 a.m. Buried Richmond, Va.
,. -,7 . LA Baptist Church
Hj j^by Captain John Berry
REV. S. W. OLDHAM
Rev. S. W. Oldham was born near Chapel Hill, 1871. Studied at Olive's
Chapel Preparatory School and studied for the minis' ry at Wake Forest
College in 1891. Married 1898. Celebrated 64th wedding anniversary on
Thursday, January 11, 1962. He was a supply preacher and regular pastor
during his college days.
First pastorate for the young couple was in the Little River Asso-
ciation where he served two small churches. Then came a pastorate in
Wake County where Mrs. Oldham taught school.
He served 55 years as pastor, retiring in 1948 at age 77. Served as
tax collector and town clerk at Star, N. C. for eight years.
I remember when Rev. and Mrs. Oldham served in Hillsborough,
N. C. (1916-1922). During the "flu epidemic," Rev. and Mrs. Oldham
served the sick and did a wonderful job. Our home was near the Baptist
Church and it was great to see a couple like these working for the
Lord and man kind. (From: Charity and Children) (1-11-62)
Rev. S. W. Oldham died in the year of 1962.
REV. CHARLES AUGUSTUS CALDWELL
Rev. Charles Augustus Caldwell was born at Maiden, North Carolina,
on February 27, 1879. He attended school at Maiden, and attended a
Baptist College at Maiden. Rev. Caldwell was ordained to the ministry
in the First Baptist Church at Lincolnton, North Carolina, in August,
1906. He served the following churches: Lincoln County; Burke County
at Marion, North Carolina; Gaston County; Rock Hill, South Carolina;
and Hillsborough. While in Hillsborough, he also preached at Mars Hill,
Berry's Grove, and finally Haw River. Rev. Caldwell's wife now lives in
Hillsborough. His daughter, Mrs. Winnie Blackwelder, also lives in Hills-
borough, near her mother, east of town.
BRUCE COLLINS CRESSON
Bruce Collins Cresson, born October 27, 1930, Lenoir, Caldwell County,
North Carolina. Educated in Lenoir City Schools, graduated from Lenoir
High School in 1948. Member of College Avenue Baptist Church, Lenoir,
N. C. Licensed as Minister by this church in 1948. Entered Wake Forest
College in 1948, was graduated with BA. in June, 1952. Served as Assist-
ant Pastor, First Baptist Church, Black Mountain, N. C, summer of 1951.
Entered Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Firest,
N. C. in 1952, graduated with B.D. in 1955 and with Th.M. in Old Testa-
ment Interpretation in 1956. Served as Interim Pastor of Southport
Baptist Church, Southport, N. C, January through August, 1954. Ordained
to Ministry, Feb., 1954 by College Ave. Baptist Church, Lenoir. Accepted
call as Assistant Pastor of First Baptist Church, Hillsborough, N. C,
October, 1954, and as Pastor in June, 1957. Married to Betty Joanne
Suddreth of Lenoir, N. C, August 7, 1955. Joanna Lynn born September 4,
1958. Resigned Hillsborough pastorate September 10, 1961 to complete
studies for Ph.D. degree at Duke University under a Rockefeller Doctoral
Served as Part-time Instructor in Old Testament at Southeastern
Baptist Theological Seminary 1957-58 and 1958-59. Part-time instructor in
Department of Religion at Duke University for Spring and Fall of 1961.
REV. E. GLEN HOLT
Rev. E. Glen Holt, native of Smithfield, North Carolina.
Graduate of Mars Hill Junior College, Wake Forest College, B.A.,
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, B.D., Postgraduate work at
Southeastern Seminary, and graduate of School of Pastoral Care, North
Carolina Baptist Hospital, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.
Married to the former Joyce Smith of Selma, N. C. One child, Charles
Mark, born Oct. 29, 1960.
Pastorates: Pastor of Sardis and Hepzibah Churches, near Smithfield,
N. C, while a student at the Seminary. Pastor of Grassy Creek Baptist
Church near Oxford. Pastor of First Baptist Church, Hillsborough, since
May 22, 1962.
Dr. and Mrs. C. Maddry
1901-1904 — 1951-1958
Rev. J. R. Green
Rev. and Mrs. S. W. Oldham
Rev. and Mrs. S. W. Oldham
Rev. J. R. Cantrell
Rev. and Mrs. C. A. Caldwell
Rev. A. K. Cheek
Rev. and Mrs. W. W. Abernathy
Rev. B. C. Cresson
Rev. Glenn Holt
Dr. J. S. Spurgeon (Dentist)
Served Hillsboro Baptist Church
for about 60 years in many ways.
Served as church clerk, treasur-
er, etc. Dentist in Hillsborough
for 63 years.
Mr. Julian Carr
One of the most faithful mem-
bers of the First Baptist Church,
Hillsborough, N. C.
Mr. John Clayton
Member of the Baptit Church.
Served as deacon for a great
number of years
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Crabtree
Mr. Crabtree — Treasurer
SOME DEVOTED SERVANTS OF THE CHURCH
DURING THE LONG YEARS
By Dr. C. E. Maddry
Some of the former members of the Hillsborough church have rend-
ered long and devoted service in the cause of Christ. We would pay
homage, first of all, to Mrs. William A. Graham, wife of a former gov-
ernor, who was instrumental in the organization of the church and in the
erection of the present buildig. When the money saved for the building
was lost during the Civil War, Mrs. Graham sent out hundreds of letters
to personal friends far and near; after ten years of continuous effort,
the debt was finally paid.
Then came church and clerk deacon James E. Jones who for many
years served the church wi h loyalty and generosity. Parham H. Smith,
long-time deacon, who loved his church with Christ-like devotion, was
unsurpassed for loyalty and liberality. Certainly, we should mention
William H. Newman, for so many years a deacon and trustee and always
unfailing in his consecrated loyalty. Mr. and Mrs. T. B. Parker who were
active members of the church for a decade around 1900 were the
parents of Mrs. Maddry. Mr. Parker often led the business meetings of
the church and was presiding officer of the church conference in 1901.
No history of this church would be complete without a tribute to
Dr. J. S. Spurgeon. For more than sixty years he was a member of this
church and for sixty-three years practiced dentistry in Hillsborough. He
was superintendent of the Sunday school, deacon, clerk and treasurer at
various times. Mrs. Spurgeon is one of the two persons now members
of the church when Dr. Maddry came here fifty-three years ago; the other
one is Mrs. Charles E. Maddry.
In later years we s^uld pay tribute to Mr. and Mrs. Gary W. Lloyd,
Mr. and Mrs. M. P. Lloyd and Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell Lloyd. These three
families with their children have rendered unfailing service to the church.
Four of the senior deacons who are honored for their long service are:
Deacon W. Henry Walker who has served for many years as chairman
fo the Board of Deacons; Mrs. Walker has been a faithful leader in every
phase of the life of the church. Mr. Julian S. Carr, a long-time deacon,
has always been generous with his means and, until poor health pre-
vented, was constant in attendance upon all the church services. A. J.
and Olivia Lloyd Snipes are also steadfast workers in the church.
Mr. and Mrs. Bun Turner have been faithful and steadfast workers
in the church. One who should be mentioned for his long service to his
church is Marsall L, Cates, a constant attendant, a generous supporter
and a loyal follower of his pastor. Mr. and Mrs. John Clayton are long-
time members who are still rendering valuable services.
Mr. and Mrs. Bunn Turner, Sr., long time members of the Baptist Church.
Mr. Turner was a member of the board of deacons for a great number
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Walker. Mr. Walker served for many years as chair-
man of the Board of Deacons. Mrs. Walker has been a faithful leader in
every phase of the life of the Church.
BAPTIST CHURCH (1854-1860)1924— (SHOWING STEEPLE)
Thomas E. Sparrow, Sheriff of
Orange County, 1920. Hillsbor-
ough Postmaster Dec. 4, 1922 to
Oct. 4, 1929. Member Eagle Lodge
No. 19. Active Church worker.
M. L. Cates, Sr., member of the
Baptist Church for about 40 years.
Served as deacon for a great num-
ber of years. A good church work-
HISTORY OF THE
MOUNT BRIGHT BAPTIST
HISTORY OF MOUNT BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH
MOUNT BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH, 1906— ORGANIZED 1866
Mount Bright Baptist Church — 1906. The land was given by the widow
of the Honorable William H. Graham, Governor of North Carolina, 1845.
"AUNT" PEGGY FAIRBAULT, NURSE (MIDWIFE)
THE HISTOR/OF THE MT. BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH
Written by Rev. Fred J. Boddie, Jr.
In the days when American transportation was in its covered wagon
and stage coach era, its continued westward march, and emancipation
of slaves, a certain portion of Colored citizenship in the little Revolu-
tionary town of Hillsborough, N. C. found itself face to face with real
religious freedom for the first time.
Realizing this, it was in the year 1866 that a local church group was
organized, and later became known as the Mount Bright Baptist Church.
Mount Bright Baptist Church was named in honor of its first pastor,
the Rev. Alfred E. Bright.
One of its first meeting places was in a home not more than 300
yards from its present structure. This was the home of the late Brother
Louis Jenkins. Perhaps it is better known today as the Hattie Latta place.
Another meeting place was the Old Fellows Hall, now known as the
Community Center. Meetings were held in this building after the original
church structure burned in 1903.
The present site was given to the group by the widow of the Hon-
orable William A. Graham, Governor of North Carolina, 1845.
The church was erected on the present site in 1906.
The Mount Bright Baptist Church has been served by many outstand-
ing church leaders. Their pastorates range in the following order:
The Rev. Alfred Bright.
The Rev. Robert Shepherd, Oxford, N. C.
The Rev. Augustus Shepherd, Oxford, N. C. (this Rev. Shepherd was
married to the former Miss Pattie Whitted. This couple were the parents
of the late Dr. James E. Shepherd, educator and founder of North Caro-
lina College at Durham).
The Rev. Snyder.
The Rev. Burrell
The. Rev. Davis, Shaw University, Raleigh, N. C.
The Rev. Edwards.
The Rev. Perry — Instructor, Shaw University, Raleigh, N. C.
The Rev. Caldwell, Chapel Hill, N. C.
The Rev. Alvis Whitted, Sr., Hillsborough (father of Alvis Whitted, Jr.)
The Rev. Vinson — Shaw University, Raleigh, N. C.
The Rev. Worlds
The Rev. Thomas — Missionary to Liberia, Africa.
The Rev. J. H. Moore, Clarkton, N. C.
The Rev. Watkins — Shaw University, Raleigh, N. C.
The Rev. Pope — Durham, N. C.
The Rev. Donnell — Greensboro, N. C.
The Rev. Tabron — Durham, N. C.
The Rev. A. B. Johnson — Raleigh, N. C.
The Rev. B. B. Felder— Columbia, S. C.
The Rev. P. H. Warren, Jr., A.B. Shaw University; Goldsboro, N. C.
The Rev. F. J. Boddie, Jr., A.B. Shaw University, B.D. Shaw Univer-
sity Divinity School and a native of Petersburg, Virginia. (Pastor until
The Rev. Howe B. Perry, D.D., 1962.
Rev. Alonzo Bernard Johnson, Rev. F. J. Boddie, pastor of the
pastor of the Baptist Church for Baptist Church, Hillsborough, N.
about 25 years. C, 1961.
BAPTIST PARSONAGE— BUILT 1961
THE REVEREND MR. FRED J. BODDIE, JR.
A native of Petersburg, Virginia. Graduate of Peabody High School
serving as president of his class. Prior to his pastorate at the Historic
Mount Bright Baptist Church he served as the assistant pastor of the
Tabernacle Baptist Church, Petersburg, Va., where his father, Dr. Fred
J. Boddie is pastor.
Received the Bachelor of Arts Degree from Shaw University, Raleigh,
North Carolina — Listed in the 1957-58 edition of Who's Who Among Stu-
dents in American Universities and Colleges. Also served as the president
of the student body.
Received the Bachelor of Divinity Degree from Shaw University
School, Raleigh, N. C.
Member of the Executive Board of the Hampton Interdenominational
Ministerial Conference, Hampton Institute, Hampton, Va.
Member of the Executive Board of the Voice Commission, the Na-
tional Publication of the National Baptist Convention, U. S. A., Inc.
Under his three years administration at this church, the first elec-
tronic organ has been purchased, centralized budget and tithing system
instituted, purchasing of the Ellison home lot for the first church par-
sonage which is now under construction, and the church is now on a
full time schedule.
THE REV. H. B. FERRY
Rev. Howe B. Perry was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts March
13, 1908. He was educated in the public school of Cambridge.
He attended the Bible School of the Christian Missionary Alliance;
and received his B.D. from Gordan's College of Boston, Mass. A few
years ago he received a D.D. from Miller's University, Philadelphia, Pa.
Before coming to Hillsborough, N. C. Mount Bright Baptist Church,
he served the Church of the Messiah, Boston; Western Avenue Baptist
Church, Cambridge; Union Baptist Church, Fawtucket, R. I., and the
Second Baptist Church, Long Island, N. Y. He is married to the former
Mamie McClendon of South Carolina and the father of Dorice, Edwin,
Calvin, and Cora.
REV. HOWE B. PERRY
MEMBERSHIP OF THE MOUNT BRIGHT BAPTIST CHURCH OF
HILLSBOROUGH, N. C.
C. W. Whitted, Chairman
W. W. Faribault (Superintendent
of Sunday School)
H. S. Jones
Ed Whitted (Clerk of the Church)
Edmond Baine, Sr.
Edmond Baine, Jr.
Albert Browder, Jr.
L. B. Brown
M. C. Burt, Sr.
M. C. Burt, Jr.
Kenneth De Lon
Luther De Lon
C. W. Rainey, Sr.
Charles Rainey, Jr.
S. N. Shelton
J. H. Wells, Sr.
J. H. Wells, Jr.
W. W. Faribault, Sr.
W. W. Faribault, Jr.
Rev. Allen Gattis
Rev. Melvin Gattis
H. S. Jones
Willaim Arthur Jones
Major Jones, Sr.
Major Jones, Jr.
Rev. Hampton Long
John C. Mayo
Rev. A. L. McCullers
C. W. Whitted, Jr.
George E. Whitted
Josephine Alston II
Mary Anna Alston
Be' tie Anderson
Ethel Lee Brown
A. A. Burt
Annie De Lon
Emma Lee Garner
Dorothy L. Holt
Mary E. Johnson
Fannie Mae Jones
Margaret E. Jones
Thelma S. Mayo
Fannie Mae Nelson
Annie B. Rainey
Addie Lee Walton
Delores Ann Whitted
Born Nov. 22, 1873. Member of
Church for 50 years. Deacon
for eight years. Oldest living
member. He has been a good
H. W. JONES
Member of the Baptist Church.
HENDERSON WASHINGTON JONES
Henderson Washington Jones, son of the late Issac and Charlotte F.
Jones, was born in Orange County on Aug. 30, 1881. He departed his life
on June 8, 1959, after being in declining health for about two years. He
was critically ill for about three weeks.
On Oct. 1, 1908, he was joined in Holy Matrmony to Miss Betty Dur-
ham. To this union ten children were born.
A resident of this community for more than half a century, his con-
tributions to the civic and religious life of Hillsboro has been far-reaching.
He was chairman of the Deacon Board of Mount Bright Baptist Church
for many years; he was a retired Sunday School teacher. He was a Past
Master of the Prince Hall Masonic Lodge No. 28, of Durham, N. C.
DEMPSEY WHITTED — Jan. MRS. MARY WHITTED — Jan.
'^j&'MffgtagapJIpt Church 1947 . Memb er Bao^ t , Church.
HISTORY OF THE
A. M. E. CHRUCH,
HILLSBOROUGH, N. C
REV. A. J. HOLMAN
A. M. E. CHURCH, HILLSBOROUGH, N. C.
DICKERSON'S CHAPEL A. M. E. CHURCH — The church was
the old courthouse. It was moved to this location around 1844.
First was owned by the Baptists.
DICKERSON'S CHAPEL A. M. E. CHURCH
The Dickerson's Chapel was organized in 1851. Job Berry and Rev.
Billy Payne helped organize this church. It was remodeled in 1891 and
again in 1947. It was first the courthouse of Orange County. In 1845,
Rev. Elias Dodson, white Baptist preacher, bought the old courthouse and
moved it up the street to the corner of Churton and Queen Streets. This
became the First Baptist Church of Hillsborough. The Baptist Church was
organized in this building on November 19, 1953. The sermon was preached
by Rev. T. W. Toby.
The Baptist Church sold the house and the lot of Churton and Queen
Streets in 1862 to George Bishop. George Bishop sold it to Ellerton P.
Morris, Antony M. Krinton, and Richard Cadberry of Philadelphia for the
sum of twelve hundred dollars. These men are designed as "friends of the
colored free man" of Hillsborough.
In the early existence, it was used as a school for colored children
and taught by Quakers from Pennsylvania. Later the Northern Quakers
gave it up, and the building became a public school. The school building
was sold later to the members of Dickerson's Chapel, 1886. Rev. Job
Berry was the first pastor of this church. He was pastor before they
bought the church building.
One of the oldest members of Dickerson's Chapel is Willis Lipscomb.
Another old member is Gaither Collins. Gaither Collins has been one of
the most faithful members this church has ever had. All through the
years, Gaither has helped do the janitor work and any other job that was
to be done. A member of any church should have the right to serve as he
sees fit. Some members sing in choir, some teach Sunday School classes,
and some love to do the janitor work. Whatever a member is suited to
do, only the "Lord" has the right to say what each one can do.
The trustees at time the church was bought were: Sam Whitted, Bill
Ellison, Jim Thompson, Jim Nichols, Frank Turrentine, Charles Daye, J.
Hooker, and J. T. Wallace.
Pastors were as follows:
Rev. Job Berry (Great Grandfather of James L. Davis Jr.)
Rev. George Hunter
Rev. William Hunter
Rev. G. S. Grant
Rev. A. J. Holman
Rev. J. R. Bridges (Pastor during the Orange County
Rev. A. W. Jones
Rev. P. 0. James
Rev. J. S. T. Decker
Rev. A. J. Holman — Present pastor (Second Time)
This church was the third courthouse of Orange County, built in the
year 1790. It was used as the courthouse until the year 1844. The building
of the third courthouse (second district courthouse) was authorized by the
legislature in 1790.
The following is the deed to the Dickerson's Chapel:
Ellison P. Morris
Anthony M. Kimbro
Richard Codberry to Charles Day, Jordan Hooker, Franklin Turrentine,
George Washington Daye, and Josephine Thomas Wallace. This indenture
made and executed 28th. day of January, 1886 between E. P. Morris, A. M.
Kimbro, and R. Codberry all of the City of Philadelphit and State of
Pennsylvania Trustee for and on behalf of the association of Friends of
Philadelphia and Victory for the relief of Colored Freedman of the one
part and Charles Daye, Jordan Hooker, Franklin W. Daye, and J. T. Wal-
lace, Trustee of the African Methodist Episcopal Church of Hillsborough,
Orange Co., State of North Carolina. The sum of eight-hundred dollars
was paid for the land.
All that certain piece or parcel of land situated in Town of Hills-
borough, Orange County, and State of N. C. being one half of % of an
acre more or less and known in the plan of said town as part of lot
No. 80., being the lot known as the old Baptist Church lot (white), being
the same premises which George Bishop by indenture dated the fifth day
of June, Sixth month, 1866, and registered in the Register's office of —
Orange Co., N. C. in Book L. Pages No. 329 to 330. July 23rd., 1929. (C. H.
Jones — Deed Book 65 at page 350.)
REV. A. J. HOLMAN
Rev. A. J. Holman is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Brady Holman of
Pomaria, South Carolina. The oldest of twelve children, he was born in
Newberry County. He attended Mt. Hebron Elementary School and grad-
uated from Drayton Street High School at Newberry, South Carolina.
He also attended Allen University and Dickerson's Theological Sem-
inary at Columbia, South Carolina.
He began his ministry at the age of 16. Being an ordained minister as
Itinerant Deacon and Elder of the A. M. E. Church, he has held pastorates
in Newberry, Richland, and Fairfield Counties of South Carolina and Scot-
land, Person, and Orange Counties of North Carolina.
A pastor for 31 years, he now holds the pastorate of the Hillsborough
circuit Mt. Zion and Dickerson's Chapel of Hillsborough, North Carolina.
He now holds positions as Past Worthy Chief and Special Deputy of
Pinnix Council 1701 of the St. Luke Lodge, Hillsborough, North Carolina.
Member of Prince Hall Masonic Lodge 460, Durham, N. C.
Worshipful Master of St. James Masonic Lodge 494, Hillsborough,
Member of the Consistony No. 218, Durham, N. C.
Member of ZAFA Temple 176 Shriners, Durham, N. C.
Director of Boy Scout Unit of Hillsborough, N. C.
He is married and has one son.
REV. P. O. JAMES
Pastor of Dickerson's Chapel
A.M.E. for eight years.
REV. P. O. JAMES
Rev. P. O. James was born in Magnolia, N. C. He received his high
school education at Wiiliston High School in Wilmington, North Carolina.
He attended the University at Johnson C. Smith, Charlotte, North
He pastored in Wilmington, N. C; Reidsville, N. C;. Liberty, N. C;
Charlotte, N. C. for 9 years; Hillsboro for 8 years, where he brick veneer-
ed two churches — Dickerson's Chapel and Mt. Zion A. M. E. Church. He
was an outstanding leader in the county of Orange among the members
of both races.
Rev. P. O. James is now pastoring in Durham, N. C. at the Emmanual
A. M. E. Church, where he plans to improve, build, and work for the
advancement of God's kingdom.
WILLIS LIPSCOMB AND WIFE 19S3
GAITHER AND MAMIE COLLINS 1960
ENROLLMENT — 1962
M. V. Chavious
J. G. Collins
Mary C. Collins
J. L. Davis
Peggy P. Drew
Edd Nash Faucette
M. H. Faucette
Laura C. Gentry
M. L. Latta
Myrtle T. Mayo
Andrew S. Morrow
Mariah G. McPherson
William E. McPherson
Marie H. Murfree
Laura E. Robinson
A. L. Stanback
C. C. Stanback
L. W. Walker
Effie K. Wilson
A. 0. Whitted
Rev. A. J. Holman
Mrs. Lucille Holman
HILLSBOROUGH, N. C
THE ALTAR IN THE SANCTUARY OF ST. MATTHEW'S
The Anglican Communion that are known throughout the world are:
The Anglican Church of Canada; The Church of Ireland; The Episcopal
Church in Scotland; The Church of India, Pakistan, Burma, and Ceylon,
The Episcopal Church is part of Christ's Church. As such it has a
continuous and unbroken existence since the founding of the Church by
Christ. It is a part of the Anglican Communion, one of the great branches
of the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church. It was brought to
American shores as the Church of England, by the early colonists and
settlers. Subsequently, as the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United
States, it has made only such modifications in its liturgy and practices as
seemed necessary to life in the new nation.
Thus it is a Church that remains both Catholic and Apostolic; Catholic
in standing for the wholeness of the faith and life of the Christian com-
munity, Apostolic because it continues in the unbroken fellowship of the
Church since Apostolic times.
ST. MATTHEW'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH BUILT 1824
The land given by Chief Justice Thomas Ruffin.
When the church was first built it did not have a steeple.
The Church of England in Australia and Tasmania. (From: The National
Council, Episcopal Church, New York 10, N. Y.)
The chief ornaments of the Church are the Font, which is used in
the administration of Holy Baptism, and the Altar, which serves for the
celebration of the Holy Communion. To these may be added the pulpit,
and the seats in the chancel for the choir.
The Font is generally placed near the door to show the Baptism is
the "door" by which we enter into the fold of Christ's Church.
The Altar is generally placed at the east end of the Church, in token
that Christ is the Sun of Righteousness, for which reason it has ever
been the custom of the Church to worship toward the point where the
(From: The Prayer Book Reason Why — by the Rev. Nelson R. Boss, M. A.)
An "Episcopalian" is a member of an American religious organization
officially known as the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States
of America. It is the self-governing American branch of the Anglican
Communion, and was the first church to be founded in the newly formed
At first it had little following except in Virginia and Maryland, where
it was the established church. There was no colonial bishop, and the
Revolutionary War caused serious setbacks. But in 1789 the Church be-
came an independent body with its own bishops. A constitution was
framed which provided for a General Convention made up of a House of
Bishops and a House of Clerical and Lay Deputies. At the same time the
Prayer Book was revised to suit American needs in matters of discipline
and worship. After 1800 the Church began to develop Sunday schools,
theological seminaries, missionary societies, and other institutions. A period
of rapid growth began after 1830, and an active missionary policy was
adopted by the General Convention of 1835. The Oxford Movement in
England strongly affected the Church after 1840.
The Episcopal Church was the only church which was not divided for
a long time by the War between the Sta.es. But in the following decades
the Ritual Controversy and the Broad Church movement influenced both
th Evangelicals and the High Churchmen. Some followers formed the
Reformed Episcopal Church (1874).
(From: The World Book Encyclopedia)
The Revolution almost destroyed the colonial Church of England.
Under special oath of allegiance to the King, the clergy either fled to
England or Canada, or remained as Loyalists in the colonies. At the war's
end there was no episcopacy, no association of churches, not even the
semblance of an establishment. Few thought of any future for this church,
which suffered more than any other in the colonies. It was slow becoming
re-established as the Protestant Episcopal Church. As late as 1817, when
the Diocese of North Carolina was established, it contained only three
clergymen and less than two hundred communicants.
The Protestant Episcopal Church constitutes "the self-governing
American branch of the Anglican Communion"; for a century and a half
in this country it bore the name of the Church of England.
The Episcopal form of government, closely parallels that of the Fed-
eral government. The basic unit is the parish, governed by the rector,
or priest; wardens, who have charge of the church's records and the col-
lection of alms; and vestrymen who have charge of all church property.
Parishes are grouped into dioceses.
St. Matthew's Episcopal Church dates back to the period before the
American Revolution when the town was the colonial capital of the colony
of North Carolina.
The church was built in 1766 by the Episcopalians under the charge
of the Reverend George Micklejohn, appointed to the parish by Governor
Tryon. It was built on the corner of Churton and Tryon Streets, where
the library now stands.
After the Rev. Micklejohn, there are no records that the parish had
a resident minister, and the church and grounds passd to the Presby-
terians. On August 24, 1824, the Episcopalians again organized and
founded the present church on a land-grant given by Chief Justice Thomas
Ruffin. The following signed the first record: Cameron, Ruffin, Turner,
Norwood, Cain, Anderson, and Latta.
The first rector of St. Matthew's Church (1824) was Rev. William
Mercer Green. The church is located on a rounded hill on the east side
of town. It is surrounded by a beautiful grove of trees.
There are monuments in the Episcopal Churchyard to the memory
of the ancestors of famous families that lived in Hillsboro. The names
are as follows: Cameron, Ruffin, Webbs, Graham, Roulhacs, Waddells,
Gowers, Hills, Curtises, Cains, Cushman, and others. The bell in the
church steeple was given by Mrs. Mary Curtis. It was rung for the first
service on Easter Day, 1878, and it has inscribed on it the following: "To
the glory of God, and in memoriam; John Henry Curtis, and other soldiers
of the Orange Light Artillery, N. C. T., who fell in the service of the
The During was erected in 1824 ana seats 150; the present member-
ship of the church is 86; the Rector is The Rev. Lauton Pettit.
Clergy List of the Episcopal Church
Mr. Green was with the church from 1832 until 1838. He moved to
Chapel Hill in 1838. He made a formal request of the vestry that at his
death, his body be buried in St. Matthew's Church graveyard. His request
was granted. In 1850 he was consecrated the 1st Bishop of Mississippi.
Rev. Henry H. Pront came to the church in 1838.
Rev. Moses Ashley Curtis was a native of Massachusetts, and came to
North Carolina as a teacher. He married in Wilmington, Miss Mary De-
Rossett. He was a minister at Washington, North Carolina, for a short
time and head of the Episcopal Academy in Raleigh. But in Hillsboro he
formed his real place and life-work. Dr. Curtis was a great original
authority in certain branches of Botany, known the world over as such.
He also was a skillful musician, and under his influence and instruc-
tion, the music in the parish church was such as was hardly to be heard
in other churches. Dr. Curtis removed to Society Hill, South Carolina, in
1847, but in 1857, his name appeared again in the Diocesan clergy list of
the Episcopal Church.
In 1848 the Reverend James B. Connelly took charge of the parish and
died the latter part of 1855. He was an earnest and devout man.
Dr. Curtis died April 10, 1872, and was succeeded by his son, the
Rev. Charles Jones Curtis. Having been ordained to the Priesthood on
December 14, 1873, he became rector, and served until his resignation on
July 24, 1880.
Rev. Joseph W. Murphy served the church from 1881 until 1892.
Rev. Benjamin McKenzie came to the church in 1892 and stayed until
The Rev. Samuel Paxon Watters was with the church from 1897 until
1912. Mrs. Watters was an invalid the greater part of her time in Hills-
borough, and yet she was one of the most effective and useful women in
The Rev. Alfred S. Lawrence served from 1912 until 1917.
The Rev. William D. Benton was rector of the parish for 16 years,
from 1917 until 1933.
Rectors of St. Matthew's Episcopal Church since Dr. Ben + on:
The Rev. John Q. Beckwith (1934-1937)
The Rev. James D. Beckwith (1938-1941)
The Rev. Robert C. Masterton (1942-1952)
The Rev. Lauton Pettit (1954 )
REV. ROBERT MASTERTON
Moved to New York City when very young. Attended S. John's
Military School, Manlius, N. Y. (Now called Manlius School)
Graduated from Trinity School, New York City. Graduated from
Columbia University. Worked for two years in Spring Street Settlement
House, New York City. Attended Union Seminary, New York. Graduated
from Berkeley Seminary, New Haven, Conn.
Ordained Deacon by Bishop Greer of New York. Ordained Priest by
Bishop Greer of New York. Took charge of St. Augustine's Mission in
Rector of Calvary Church, Burnt Hills, N. Y.; Rector of St. James'
Church, Lake George, N. Y.; Rector of St. Peters Church, Delaware, Ohio;
Rector of Trinity Church, Lumberton, N. C; Rector of The Church of the
Advent, Washington, D. C; Rector of Grace Church, Alexandria Va.; Rec-
tor of St. Matthews Church, Hillsboro, N. C.
Retired, living in Chapel Hill, N. C.
LAUTON W. PETTIT 1954
(Biographical sketch of Lauton Pettit)
Born January 11, 1915 in Lockport, N. Y., the son of Glenn L. and
Eleanor A. Pettit. Graduated from Lockport High School in 1931. Gradu-
ated from Hobart College in Geneva, N. Y. in 1936 with an A.B. degree.
While in college he earned his letter as manager of the Lacrosse team,
was President of the International Relations Club, was President of the
Student Christian Association and a member of Delta Psi Omega frat^r : ty.
Upon graduation from college he accepted a job in the Production
Department of United Fruit Co. in Boston, Mass. where he worked for
three years. He entered Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, Va.
in 1939 and graduated in 1942 with a B.D. degree.
He was ordained in the Ministry of the Episcopal Church on June
14th, 1942 in Grace Church, Lockport, N. Y. After 6 months, he was
ordained Priest on December 17th, 1942 in St. John's Church in Buffalo,
N. Y. where he remained as Curate until 1944. On June 24th 1944 he
married Ellen Sheffield Patman of Rochester, N. Y., a graduate of the
University of Rochester and a Director of Religious Education in St. James
Church, Batavia, N. Y. From 1944 to 1947 Mr. Pettit was priest-in-charge
of five churches in the Diocese of Southwestern Virginia. The Rectory
was in Norton, Va. In 1947, Mr. Pettit accepted a call to become Rector
of St. John's Church in Halifax, Va. where he remained until 1954. In
1954 he became Rector of St. Matthews Church in Hillsborough, N. C.
In Hillsborough, Mr. Pettit has been active in the Lions Club, Exchange
Club, and has served as Master of Eagle Lodge No. 19 A.F.&A.M. for the
year 1961. The Pettits have two children, Elizabeth Anne, and Lauton
The wardens elected in 1824 were Francis L. Hawks, Senior Warden,
and William Norwood, Junior Warden.
The regular unbroken record began in 1838 with William Cain, Joseph
C. Norwood, Priestly H. Mangum, Andrew McKee, Cadwalader Jones,
Henry K. Nash, James Webb, Thomas B. Hill, D. Heyward Hamilton, John
W. Graham, and William A. Hayes.
Organization of St. Matthew's Church, Hillsborough, August 23, 1824
Membership: Eliza Estes, Mary P. Ashe, Elizabeth Ashe, Mary R.
Anderson, Sally Grove, William Norwood, Ann Ruffin, P. R. Anderson,
Ann O. Cameron, Elizabeth Norwood, Thomas Ruffin, Walker Anderson,
Josiah Turner, Emily Hawks, Stephen Moore, John Latta, William Cain,
Jr., Thomas Carney, William Bary Grove, W. E. Andrews, Robina Nor-
wood, Thomas J. Taddie, Benjamin B. Blum, Elizabeth Latta, Francis L.
Hawks, Ellen Latta, N. Hoston, and Catherine Hoston.
At the evening service of the 100th anniversary of the organization
of the Episcopal Church, Hillsborough, was as follows: two great-great-
grandaughters of Chief Justice Ruffin, who gave the valuable site where
now stands the church and rectory, were present. The speakers were
Arch-deacon Bethea, Mr. Samuel S. Nash of Tarboro, and Mr. Heyward
Hamilton of Baltimore. The music was under the direction of Mrs. Wil-
liam D. Benton. Mrs. A. H. Graham helped with the choir.
MEMORIALS IN ST. MATTHEW'S CHURCH
By The Rev. L. W. Pettit.
Rector's Chair (south side of altar) In memory of S.M.M. (Sarah Mary
Matthews Murphy) given by her husband, sons and daughter May 20, 1885.
Font Cover of polished brass and chestnut is "a thank offering for
a great mercy".
The Bible was presented by Mrs. Wm. L. DeRosset and other of family
and friends as an Easter offering — Easter 1885.
Altar and reredos in memory of Faul C. Cameron, Miss Rebecca Gra-
ham and Miss Pauline Sheppard given by Miss Mildred C. Cameron. (1892).
At Christmas of 1892 — a brass altar rail in memory of Miss Mildred
Cameron — given by Miss Margaret Mordecae.
The Oak Litany Desk was given at Christmas 1895 by Miss Anne i^hou-
Iac in memory of her neice Katherine R. Hamilton.
The Brass Alms Basin given in 1900 in loving memory of Rev. Joseph
W. Murphy by Dr. Samuel W. Murphy, his brother and Mrs. Walter E.
Stumph, his daughter.
The Hymn Board was given by Katherine Roulhac Hamilton — "to
the greater praise and glory of God."
The Pulpit — in loving memory of Anne Cameron (6-3-14 — 5-29-97).
The Font — In Memoriam to Rev. M. A. Curtis and five children.
The Altar Desk — in memory of Frances Gray Hamilton — 1897.
The Candle Sticks— Allan Jones Cameron 1852-1930.
The Cross — in memory of M. R. Gwynn — Feb. 21, 1877.
The Bishops Chair (north side of altar) In memory of A. M. R. — Oct.
1. Sally Nash Ruffin Gwynn 1836 1879 — Martha P. Ruff in 1831-1896.
2. Mary Rebecca Ruffin (1.822-1878) and her daughter Rebecca Edwards
3. James Webb (Senior Warden) (1816-1897) His wife (Sarah Frances
Cheshire (1822-1891) and their children.
1. Paul Carrington Cameron (1892-1895)
2. Rev. Moses Ashley Curtis died April 10, 1872, aged 64 years. Rec-
tor of St. Matthews for 21 years.
MEMBERS THROUGH THE YEARS WERE:
THOMAS RUFFIN (By Francis Nash)
The first born of Sterling Ruffin and Alice Roane. Born at Newing-
ton, King and Queen County, Virginia, November 17, 1787. Died at Hills-
boro, Orange County, North Carolina, January 15, 1870. Graduated at Nas-
sau Hall, Princeton, New Jersey, 1805. Admitted to the Bar in North
Carolina in 1808. Intermarried with Anne M. Kirkland December 9, 1809.
A member of the State Legislature, Speaker of the House of Commons;
a trustee of the University; twice Judge of the Superior Court; in 1829,
Justice of the Supreme Court, in which he presided for 19 years a Chief
"A man resolved and steady to his trust, inflexible to ill and obstin-
ately just.' This is the inscription upon Judge Ruf fin's tomb in St. Mat-
thew's churchyard at Hillsboro — his life in epitome.
His* early boyhood was passed on the farm of his father, in Essex,
and attended schools in the vicinity. Later he was sent to the classical
academy of Mr. Marcus George, in Warrenton, North Carolina.
He went from the academy to Princeton, graduated in 1805. After
graduating, he studied law under David Robertson, E&q., at Petersburg,
Va. In 1807, his father having removed to Rockingham County, North
Carolina, he ,too, came to this state and finished his studies under Judge
Murphy. He was admitted to the bar in 1808, and located in Hillsboro
for the practice of his profession June 7, 1809.
Judge Ruffin's father was an ardent Methodist, becoming a preacher
of that denomination late in life. His fortune becoming impaired, he
removed to Rockingham County, North Carolina, in 1807.
About 1790, there came a young Scotchman, William Kirkland, from
Ayrshire, Scotland, to Hillsboro, to engage in mercantile pursuits. On
the eve of Christmas, 1792, he married Miss Margaret B. Scott, and
the following year, 1793, their oldest child, Anne, was born. In 1799,
he purchased the old Tew homestead and lived there the remainder of
his life. Judge Ruffin married Anne Kirkland December 7, 1809.
On January 3, 1811, Thomas Ruffin purchased 43 acres of land
adjoining the town of Hillsborough on the east side. They built a house
near by, and there the young couple lived through the few first years
of stint and poverty.
Judge Ruffin, about 1820, donated the site whereon St. Matthew's
Episcopal Church and churchyard is now located. The church was erected
in 1824 on or very near the spot where the romance of his life had com-
menced, and the land was donated as a memorial of that event and a
thanks offering to God for the blessings it had brought in its train.
Fourteen children were born to this couple, and only one died under
He was great as a lawyer, great as a judge, great as a fiancier, great
as a farmer — a rugged, indomitable soul in a frame of iron, made to
conquer, and conquering every difficulty on every side.
For more than forty years a communicant in the Protestant Episco-
pal Church, he was one of its most active members in the State, and
more than once represented the Diocese in the Triennial Conventions
of the Union.
During his life, he was a devoted church worker. As you come out
of the Episcopal Church, you will see a bronze plaque on the right
door with his name inscribed. This was placed there in memory of his
outstanding work he did in the Episcopal Chuch. North Carolina recog-
nizes Thomas Ruffin as her greatest jurist before the Civil War.
He was succeeded by Frederick Nash of Hillsborough, who served
as Chief Justice until his death in 1858.
(From: The Papers of Thomas Ruffin by J. G. deRoulhac Hamilton)
CHRONOLOGY OF THOMAS RUFFIN
1787 Nov. 17 — Born at "Newington," King and Queen County,. Va.
1801-1803 — Student at Warrenton Academy, N. C.
1803 — Entered Junior Class at Nassau Hall, Princeton, N. J.
1805 Sept. 26 — Received degree of A.B. from Princeton.
1806-1807— Law Student at Petersburg, Va.
1807— Moved to "Oakland," N. C.
1807-1808 — Law Student (under Archibald Murphy).
1808— Admitted to the Bar.
1809 June 9— Moved to Hillsborough, N. C.
Dec. 9 — Married to Anne Kirkland of Hillsborough, N. C.
1813 — Member of the House of Commons for the borough of Hillsborough.
1815 — Member of the House of Commons for the borough of Hillsborough.
1816 — Presidential elector of Monroe ticket.
Member of House of Commons.
Speaker of House of Commons.
December 16 — Elected judge of the Superior Court.
1818 Dec. 23 — Resigned from the bench to engage in the practice of law.
1820-1822— Reporter of the Supreme Court of N. C.
1824 — Candidate for presidential elector on the Crawford ticket.
1825 — Elected Judge of the Superior Court.
1828 — Resigned from the bench to become president of the State Bank
of N. C.
1830— Moved to "Haw River"
1833 — Became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
1834 — Received degree of Doctor fo Laws from U.N.C.
1835 — Delivered address before the Dialectic and Philanthropic Societies
1852 — Resigned from the bench.
1853 — Delegate to the General Convention of the Protestant Episcopal
Church in New York.
1854-1860— President of the N .C. Agricultural Society.
1853 — Elected Judge of the Supreme Court of N. C.
1859 — Resigned from the bench.
1861 — Delegate to the Peace Conference.
Delegate from Alamance to the Convention of 1861
1866— Moved to Hillsborough
1870 Jan. 15 — Died at his home in Hillsborough.
John W. Graham (1838-1928) Lawyer, born in Hillsborough. Graduate
U.N.C, 1857. Major in Confederate Army. Teacher, 1858-60; began pactice
of law in 1860. Served a number of terms in state Senate.
Mr. Graham was a member of the Episcopal Church and held office
Alexander H. Graham was born in Hillsborough. Attended school in
Hillsborough and the University of North Carolina. Practiced law in
Hillsborough except the time he spent in the army and the time he
served as a state official at Raleigh.
Mr. Graham was the son of John W. Graham. He has been a long
time member of the Episcopal Church. Mrs. A. H. Graham has been a
great help with the music of the church. During the anniversary of
the organization of the church, Mrs. Graham helped with the choir. She
worked with Mrs. William D. Benton who was the director of the choir.
Miss Annie Cameron was born in Norfolk, Va. Her mother died
when "Miss Annie" was born. Moved to Hillsborough when young. She
was educated in Raleigh, N. C. Miss Annie has taught school in Hills-
borough for over forty years.
Miss Cameron has been one of the mos': faithful members that the
Episcpoal Church has ever had. Each Sunday you will find her in the
choir. The greatest pleasure one receives in life is the service ren-
dered to their church.
Miss Sue Hayes — Born in Hillsborough. Educated in Hillsborough,
N. C. Worked in drug store with her father for a great number of years.
Served as organist for the Episcopal Church for a long time. A good
Thmoas Ruff in, Jr. (1824-1889) Lawyer. Born in Hillsborough. Grad-
uated U.N.C., 1844. Licensed to practice law. In Civil War, lieutenant
colonel, 13th regiment. Justice of the state supreme court, 1881-1885.
Practiced law in Hillsborough with J. W. Graham. His home is now
owned by Mrs. A. S. Mitchell.
(From: Orange County — 1852-1952 by Hugh Lefler and Paul Wager)
John Kirkland Ruffin (1834-1903) Physician. Son of Thomas and Annie
BISHOP JOSEPH BLOUNT CHESHIRE
By: Lawrence Foushee London, P.H.D., Historiographer of the
Diocese of North Carolina
Dr. Joseph B. Cheshire, Sr. was born in Edenton, December, 1814.
His parents, John Cheshire and Elizabeth Blount. He received his edu-
cation at the Edenton Academy and at the Episcopal School for boys.
The latter school had just been founded by Bishop Ives and was located
in Raleigh on the site where now stands St. Mary's Junior College. After
completing his course at the Episcopal School, he studied law in Raleigh
under the supervision of Thomas P. Devereux. In 1836 he was admitted
to the bar. In 1838 he decided to enter the ministry, and worked under
the direction of Bishop Ives. In 1840, Dr. Cheshire had advanced suf-
ficiently far in his theological studies to be ordained by Bishop Ives.
The Bishop placed him in charge of the parishes at Halifax and Windsor.
The next year he was ordained priest and was given Calvary Church
in Tarboro. He retained his work at Scotland Neck until 1869. His pas-
torate at Calvary Church continued for more than half a century. During
this long rectorship a beautiful new church was built, to which he him-
self contributed generously.
Dr. Cheshire will probably be best remembered in the history of
the American Episcopal Church for the part he played in healing the
breach between the northern and southern branches of the church fol-
lowing th close of the Civil War.
Dr. Cheshire married Elizabeth Toole Parker. Joseph Blount Ches-
hire, Jr. was born on March 27, 1850. In the course of time, Dr. and
Mrs. Cheshire had five other children. John Blount was born in the
house built many years before by his grandfather. He was the father
of Mr. James Cheshire, who now lives in Hillsborough.
Young Cheshire received his earliest education under the direction
of his mother. He first attended school in Tarboro, taught by Rev. and
Mrs. Owen. In the fall of 1861, Cheshire entered the Tarboro Male
Academy. In late February of 1866, young Cheshire left home for Hart-
ford. (Trinity College at Hartford, Connecticut.) He graduated in 1869.
May, 1872, Cheshire and Annie Hushe Webb were engaged. Married
December 17, 1874, in the St. Matthew's Church, Hillsborough. Richard
Lewis was his best man.
Mr. Cheshire studied law under the eminent lawyer, Wm. K. Ruffin,
son of Chief Justice Thomas Ruffin, who coached law students since
he was too crippled to do much active practice. Received his license
to practice law in 1872.
Mr. Cheshire was ordained priest by Bishop Lyman in St. Paul's
Church on May 30, 1880. (Winston-Salem, N. C.)
He was presented for ordaination by Rev. John E. C. Smedes, and
the sermon for the occasion was preached by Dr. Alfred Watson, later
Bishop of East Carolina.
During his ministry in Chapel Hill, Cheshire received calls from
several parishes, all of which offered him a better salary, but he usually
declined them. In the winter of 1881 the vestry of St. Mathew's Hills-
borough and the Church in Burlington asked him to take charge of their
parishes. He would have gone to Hillsborough,, his wife's old home, but
Bishop Lyman preferred Cheshire to remain in Chapel Hill where he
was doing good work.
About two months later he received a call from St. Peter's, Char-
lotte, which he declined. Bishop Lyman wrote him that he wished him
to accept the charge of St. Peter's. Mr. Cheshire refused to go to Char-
lotte because the Bishop had instructed him, only a few months earlier,
to remain in Chapel Hill. Bishop Lyman, however, answered that he had
directed the vestry of St. Peter's to call him again. Mr. Cheshire accepted.
Under the direction of Mr. Cheshire, St. Peter's hospital was firmly
established and has continued to grow in usefulness to the community.
Elizabeth and Sarah Cheshire were born in Chapel Hill. During their
twelve years in Charlotte four other children were born to them — Joseph
Blount, Annie, Godfrey, and James Webb Cheshire.
Mr. Cheshire did a lot of good work in Charlotte. He made many
friends outside of his congregation as well as among his parishioners.
June 27, 1893, he was elected assistant bishop. December 13, he
became Bishop. The death of Bishop Lyman placed the Assistant Bishop
in full charge of the Diocese of North Carolina.
The Bishop gave his children all the advantages he could afford.
Two of his sons were educated at the University of North Carolina and
the third attended the University of South Carolina. His three daughters
all went to St. Mary's School.
Bishop Cheshire died December 27, 1932, in Charlotte, North Carolina.
Moses Ashley Curtis
St. Matthew's Episcopal Church
built 1824. The land was given by
Chief Justice Thomas Ruffin.
Rev. L. W. Pettit
Rector St. Matthew's Episcopal
A Few Members that had Held Office in St. Matthew's Episcopal Church
Miss Annie Cameron
Chief Justice N. C. Supreme Court
Member Episcopal Church
Dr. R. B. Hayes
A physician in Hillsborough for
about forty years. Member
A. H. "Sandy Graham"— 1932
Member Episcopal Church
1921-29 — General Assembly
1929 — Speaker of the House
1932 — Lieutenant Governor
Head of the Highway Commission
James Cheshire, Sr.
A good friend to all.
A great help in collecting ma-
terial for the history of Hills-
borough and Churches.
Mr. Cheshire's father was Bish-
op of the Episcopal Church.
Member Episcopal Church
Ssmuel Tate Latta, Jr.
Tre:surer Orange County 1924-
1928. Sheriff of Orange County
October 1938 - December 1954.
Born in Orange County, Educ-
cated Cedar Grove Academy and
State College. Served in the
first World War. A popular
W. W. Walker
Merchant. Member Episcopal
Church for a great number of
years. Served on town board for
about 15 years.
Treasurer of St. Matthew's
John Graham Webb
Member Episcopal Church — 1961
Mr. Paul Collins
May 1877-January 1961
Member vestry for 50 years.
Where the Regulators were hanged.
The Home of Chief Justice Thomas Ruffin
Cemetery St. Matthew's Church (Looking East) 1962.
/ f / 2- lr-l &
MEBANE CHAPEL OF HILLSBOROUGH
The United Holy Church of America was organized at Method, North
Carolina, in 1866. Its purpose officially is to to establish and maintain
"holy convocation, assemblies, conventions, conferences, public worship,
missionary and school work, orphans' homes, and manual and trade
Articles of faith contain statements of belief in the Trinity; the
record of God's revelation of Himself in the Bible; redemption; resurrec-
tion; justification; instantaneous sanctification following reign of Christ
over the earth.
Mebane Chapel which was organized in 1913 belongs to this United
Holy Church. Preston Wade, J. F. Latta, Dennis Grady, E. Williams,
Annie Grady, and R. C. Turner were the leaders in organizing this church.
The Chapel was erected in 1914 with Rev. B. F. Alston as its first
Pastor. It seats about 200 people. The present membership of the church
is sixty members. Rev. P. H. Wiley was the pastor during the celebration
of the Bicentennial of Orange County in 1953. He served the church as
Pastor until his death. Rev. H. B. McDonald succeeded Rev. Wiley and
is the present Pastor.
Abe and Annie B. Mebane sold to the trustees of Mebane Chapel
a lot or parcel of land in the town of Hillsborough, County of Orange in
the State of North Carolina. The land is located in the west part of
Hillsborough in front of Central High School, at the corner of Union
Street. The lot contains thirty feet by forty feet. The trustees were Elishe
Williams and Arthur Hood. The amount of money paid was twenty-five
dollars. (July 16, 1912.)
The first deed was not recorded. The present deed was recorded
April 26, 1924. J. A. Harris was Deputy Clerk— Superior Court (1912).
Mebane Chapel was named in memory of Abe and Annie B. Mebane.
Their home was in Orange County. (From: Register Deeds' Office.)
When Mebane Chapel was established in 1914, they had 35 members.
Only three are now living: Rev. R. C. Turner, Hattie Mayo, and Annie J.
Grady. Two members became preachers: Rev. W. M. Shanklin and Rev.
R. C. Turner.
The first members were:
Deacon J. F. Latta Dennis Grady
Deacon William M. Shanklin SISTERS:
Lewis J. Wilson, Sec. Alice Whitted (Called Mother
Preston W. Wade of the Church)
Elisah Williams Annie B. Raye
William MePherson Elisabeth Grady
Henry Mebane Mary Mayo
John Flinthall Hattie Mayo
Rev. Ross C. Turner Lena Powell
Annie B. Mebane
Dora R. Latta
Rev. B. F. Alston served as the first pastor of Mebane Chapel, 1914.
Rev. J. W. Joice
Rev. A. J. Holcome
Rev. W. H. Hayes
Rev. P. D. Richardson
Rev. P. H. Wiley. Died while pastor of this church.
Rev. Wiley was pastor of Mebane Chapel during the celebration of
the bicentennial of Orange County in 1953.
Rev. H. B. McDonald is now pastor. His home is in Martinsville,
Virginia. Most of the preachers have lived in Durham and Raleigh.
ENROLLMENT OF MEBANE CHAPEL
R. C. Turner
James J. Obie
William M. Clark,
R. D. Brooks
Jesse W. Jones
Annie J. Grady
Hattie E. Mayo
William Clark, Jr.
Annie B. Clark
Annie L. Whitted
Betty E. Whitted
Judy M. Clark
Barbara J. Link
Chesse M. McCallum
Barbara A. Brooks
Dorothy M. Obie
Johnny E. Obie
Harry L. Clark
Jesse W. Jones, Jr.
Alford N. Jones
Thelma B. Jones
Reverend B. F. Alston
The first Pastor of Mebane Chapel
Hillsborough, N. C.
Mebane Chapel of Hillsborough, N. C.
Church erected in 1914
Edited by Pauline 0. Lloyd and Allen A. Lloyd
1. Miss Rebecca Liner
2. Mrs. Virginia Gattis
3. Allen A. Llyod, Chairman
Hillsborough Methodist Church was organized about 1807. It belonged
to the Haw River Circuit. The first preaching services were held in the
The Hillsborough community was first served by the Methodist Min-
isters assigned to the Brunswick Circuit. North Carolina Circuit was
formed May 21, 1776 — from Virginia. A map of N. C, 1780, gives the four
circuits: West — Yadkin Circuit; Central — New Hope Circuit; East — Tar
River Circuit (Raleigh); North-Eiast — Roanoke Circuit.
Hillsborough (1779) was in the New Hope Circuit. Later Hillsborough
Methodist Church was made a member of the newly formed Raleigh Dis-
trict. In 1866 the Hillsborough District was formed.
The first church was built of wood and bought from Dr. James Webb,
Feb. 1823, located on or near the property now owned by Mrs. Odell Clay-
ton. The second church was built by Capt. John Berry. The land was sold
to the church by H. N. Brown in year 1859.
The Bible in the church was printed at the University Press, Oxford,
London, England; sold by E. Gardner and Son, Oxford Bible Warehouse.
Written on the Bible is as follows: Methodist Episcopal Church, Hills-
horough, N. C, 1860.
The parsonage was bought April 13, 1891, from Mr. C. M. Parks. It
was located on the land now owned by Mr. S. Strudwick. The second par-
sonage was bought from James Webb, son of Dr. James Webb, April 30,
1903. The lot No. 94. It was remodeled about 1920 and a second story was
added. The present parsonage was built in the years 1957-58. The dedica-
tion service on Sunday, March 9, 1958, at 3 P.M.
Dr. James Webb sold the first church and land to the Hillsborough
Methodist Church, 1823. Dr. Webb's son sold the second parsonage to the
Dr. James Webb came here from Granville County. James Webb was
the son of Dr. James Webb, grandfather of Mr. Jim Cheshire, Mr. James
James Webb (died young). Dr. James Webb also had another son, Mr.
Thomas Webb. He married Robina Norwood, 1854. To them were born nine
children. Two of them were James Webb and Thomas Webb. James Webb
married Annie Bond, 1902. He was the president of Eno Cotton Mills in
Hillsborough. To them were born four children. One of his sons was James
Webb, now connected with Cone Mills. Mr. James Webb married Margaret
Raney of Raleigh, Mr. Thomas Webb's other son was Thomas Webb (1871-
1939). First married Isabella Graham (1904). To them were born Thomas
Webb and John Graham Webb. John G. Webb married Mary Leigh, Hills-
borough, N. C. Two children: Isabella Webb and John G. Webb. John Gra-
ham Webb's father was a prominent textile manufacturer at Concord, N. C.
John S. Webb was descendant of John Wall Norwood and Annabella Giles,
who were married in 1826 and lived in the old Hogg Home, "Poplar Hill" —
at which is now call "Occoneechee," near Hillsborough, N. C. Now owned
by Mr. and Mrs. Harold Culbreth.
Hillsborough was laid off in 1754 by William Churton on the north
bank of Eno River. The town contained about four hundred acres of land.
It was first called Orange, but its name was changed to Corbinton in a
very short time, for Francis Corbin. On November 20, 1759, it was in-
corporated under the name of Childsburg. In 1776 the name was changed
to Hillsborough, complimentary to the Earl of Hillsborough.
The only church in the town, at this period, stood on the site of the
present Presbyterian Church. It was erected by persons of the "Episcopal
persuasion." In 1784 it was made a school and free mee'ing house, with the
preference given to Episcopal ministers. Later, it was made famous as the
place at which the first State convention — to consider the proposed Fed-
eral Constitution — met, July 21, 1788.
In 1866 the Hillsborough District was formed. Rev. W. H. Bobbitt was
Presiding Elder. Rev. W. C. Wilson was pastor.
In 1866 Hillsborough Station consisted of Hillsborough, Cedar Grove,
Walnut Grove, Lebanon, and New Sharon
In 1866 George Laws was chairman of the Board of Stewards; O.
Hooker was secretary.
In 1867, George Laws, treasurer, reported on April 28, "The time has
come when if the people expect to have preaching they must make up
their minds to pay for it."
Stewards 1867, Julia A. Hooker, Rebecca Smith, Robert Faucette,
H. N. Brown, D. D. Phillips, Lavmisia Phillips, George Laws, I. R. Gattis,
H. L. Owm, V. B. Turrentine, Olivia Brown, Laura Brown, I. Hedgepeth,
Mary E. Phillips, Rosa Hedgpeth, Cicero Faucette, Edwin L. Brown, O.
Hooker, Mary Hooker and D. A. Robinson.
Church Library begun around 1868 — many secular and religious books.
Many books were donated by members of the church and community.
Some volumes were purchased by Sunday School classes for the library.
Books from life of Stonewall Jackson to Shakespeare, U. S. Census, and
Ben Franklin-Milton's Paradise Lost." Library Record Book records total
of 937 volumes. Must have been count about early 1870's.
In 1868, J. G. B. Cooley was librarian. The books were checked in
and out each Sunday morning.
Largest number checked out on given Sunday, (68) — Feb. 9, 1868.
Use of library eventually dimished. The church has now in its pos-
session only two or three of the original volumes of this large church
1861 Jordan Hooker was sexton and was salaried $2.25 a month.
1867-68 George Laws, Treasurer.
1869-71 Edwin S. Brown, Treasurer.
1871 Dr. C. C. Taylor, Treasurer.
1872 James R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1873 J. R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1874 J. R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1875 J. R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1876 J. R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1877 J. R. Gattis, Treasurer.
1878 C. C. Taylor, Treasurer.
1879 C. C. Taylor, Treasurer.
Amount subscribed for support of Hillsborough Station in 1869 was
$662. Total amount collected $676.03.
1880 J. H. Wheeler, Treasurer; also pastor. Pastors' salary $300.
Hillsborough Recorder, published by Dennis Heartt, 1861, gave the
appointments of preachers of the N. C. Conference 1861-62. Hillsborough
Church and Hillsborough Circuit were in the Raleigh District; Wm. Bar-
ringer was the presiding elder.
At this time the districts were as follows:
1. Raleigh District, Wm. Barringer, P.E.
2. Greensborough District, N. F. Reid, P.E.
3. Salisbury District, Wm. H. Bobbitt, P.E.
4. Washington District, Ira T. Wyche, P.E.
5. Newbern District, Wm. Closs, P.E.
6. Wilmington District, C. F. Deems, P.E.
7. Fayetteville District, P. Daub, P.E.
Dr. O. Hooker
Dr. James Webb Dr. James Webb's wife
(Pictures furnished by Mrs. Alfred Engstrom)
NJohn Berry and his wife, Elizabeth Vincent — from daeugerreotype —
through the courtesy of Mrs. Ellen Bell and Mi's. Alfred Engstrom.
In the year 1700 John Wesley founded a new Protestant group. At
first it was called the United Society. This was criticized very much.
Then they called the new group Methodis's. It later became the accepted
title for the denomination.
In the United States, the Methodist Episcopal Church grew rapidly.
In 1884, this body split on the question of slavery. The Southern members
broke away from the main body to form the Methodist Episcopal Church
South. The Methodist Protestant Church became another branch of the
main church. Still another division was the Free Methodist Church, which
insisted upon a return to the simple living and strict practices of eariler
days. A plan of union was adopted in 1939 by uniting conferences of the
various Churches. The Methodist Church was formed from a combination
of the Methodist Protestant Church and the Methodist Episcopal Church
South. Doctrines of the Church are based on the specific teachings of
The government of the Church in America is episcopal, which means
that it is organized with bishops as its head. The governing body is a
General Conference which meets once in four years.
Methodists make up one of the largest of all Protstant groups. They
are found throughout the world. In the United States more than 8,600,000
Methodists belong to about 40,000 Churches. One of the first Methodist
Churches in the United States was consructed in 1768 in New York.
Robert Strawbridge had built a log cabin church in Maryland about four
years earlier. (From The World Book Encyclopedia.)
J. Filmore is credited with having preached the first Methodist sermon
in North Carolina at Currituck Court House in 1772. After the Revolution,
Francis Asbury worked almost single handed, and a miracle seemed to
happen. The Methodists alone seemed to prosper more than the other re-
ligious groups. It developed an amazing s'rength in small towns and the
Methodists were from the outset frankly evangelical and were not re-
strained by doctrine obstacles from carrying the gospel to rich and poor
wherever and whenever they could be found.
Bishop Asbury visited all parts of the state, in about the year 1780.
He rode seven miles to Hillsborough and preached in the house of Mr.
Cortney, a tavern, to about 200 people, on Hosea 10:12, "It is time to
seek the Lord." August 12, 1780, he stated that they were decent and well
behaved. (From N. C. Conference Historical Society.)
The first Methodist Conference in America was held in Philadelphia
July 1, 1773. Robert Williams was assigned to Petersburg. The revival
which had already begun, continued throughout the year, and the follow-
ing year Williams formed the Brunswick Circuit, the first Virginia Circuit.
The Brunswick Circuit soon extended southward into North Carolina. The
Hillsboro Community was first served by the Methodist Ministers assigned
to the Brunswick.
North Carolina Circuit was formed May 21st, 1776 from Virginia.
At this Conference there were four new circuits added, which were: Fair-
fax, Hanover, Pittsylvania, and Carolina.
One of the earliest reports indicates that there were 683 members on
the Carolina Circuit, which took in the central northern counties.
In 1778 the North Carolina Circuit was divided into three circuits:
Roanoke, Tar-River, and New Hope Circuits. The New Hope Circuit took
its name from a small creek in Chatham that empties into Haw River.
It included portions of Orange, Chatham, Cumberland, and Wake Counties.
The Circuit foundation was laid by James O'Kelly with the help of
Beverly Allen. (From: History of Methodism in North Carolina — by W. L.
A map of North Carolina, 1780, gives the four circuits: West — Yadkin
Circuit; Central — New Hope Circuit; East — Tar River Circuit (Raleigh);
North-east — Roanoke Circuit.
In 1797 the Haw River Circuit took the place of the New Hope Circuit,
The Hillsborough Methodist Community was then served by the pastors of
In 1884, H. N. Brown reported that the Sunday School at Hillsborough
had celebrated its 100th anniversary. He reported that there were thirty-
five pupils and seven teachers. He stated that there was a school library
that used our Church literature.
Soon the Hillsborough Methodist Church was made a member of the
newly formed Raleigh District. Up to 1854, preachers were listed for a
In the year 1866 the Hillsborough District was formed. In this new Dis-
trict were: Hillsborough, Chapel Hill, Durham, Haw River, Franklinville,
Guilford, Alamance, Leasburg, and Person.
Pastors that served New Hope Circuit:
1779 James Kelly and Phillip Adams
1780 Francis Poythress and John Major
1781 Phillip Bruce
1782 James White
1783 Henry Willis
1784 Joshua Worley
1785 Henry Jones
1786 William Partridge
This is believed to be a picture or a picture similar to that of the First
Methodist Church in Hillsborough in yexa 1823. The land bought from Dr.
James Webb. The house used as the church was built before
the land was purchased.
Hillsborough Mefhodist Church
Rev. J. HI. Wheeler's wife's grave, 1878.
1787 John Baldwin
1788 Henry Ogburn and John Ellis
1789 Thos. Anderson and Daily Baird
1790 Isaac Lowe, R. Wiley, and Mr. Tracy
1791 J. Cannon, F. Roper, and S. Edney
1792 J. Tare, Henry Hill, and J. Jackson
1793 A. Suggs and William Wells
1794 William Ormand and L. Dyson
1795 L. Mansfield and George Martin
1796 Phillip Sands and Wiliam Kenyon
*1797 This year the Circuit changed to Haw River
1797 William Earley and Lewis Garre t
At a conference held in November, 1797, Joseph Pinnell and Samuel
Hooser were appointed to the Circuit, and at the conference held in April
1798, Joseph Pinnell and Collin Hill were appointd to the Circuit.
1799 Samuel R.
1800 Robert Wilkerson and Jessie C.
1801 John West
1803 Lewis Taylor
1804 Josiah Phillips
1805 Samuel Garrard
1806 John Weaver and McLelland
1807 William Beam and Joel Arrington
1808 B. Arendale and Thomas Cook
1809 John French and Thomas Burgess
1810 J. M. Arthur and Jepe Brown
1811 John Moore and Jesse Branch
1812 Thomas Mann and Fete Wyatt
1813 Thomas Mann
1814; Lewis Skidmore
1815 James Sanford and Abraham Trail
1816 Jepe Branch and William Peobles
1817 Hugh McCain
1818 C. S. Mooring and Peter D.
1819 Isiah Harris and J. Parker
1820 Francis A. Ward
1821 Peter D.
1822 Rufus W.
1823 Thomas Mann and J. W. Witten
1824 Jacob Hill and David Roberts
1825 Jacob Hill
1826 James W. Dunahay
1827 Benton Field and T. Barum
1828 Henry J. Evans and B. Kidd
1829 William Compton and J. Goodman
1830 James Reid and J. J. Hicks
1831 James Reid and J. P. Owens
1832 Isaac Haines
1833 Isaac Haines
Pastors serving Hillsboro Methodist Church 1837-1961:
1837 Addison Lea
1851 W. H. Brown, Station
1852 A. H. Johnson, Circuit
1853 J. L. Fisher, Station
1854 N. A. Hooker, Circuit
1855 H. T. Hudson, Station
1856 T. W. Moore, Circuit
1857 Henry Gray
1858 S. D. Peeler, Hillsborough
1859 S. D. Peeler, Hillsborough
1860 B. F. Guthrie
1861 B. F. Guthrie
Hillsborough District: Wm. M. Walsh (From Hilsborough Recorder) By:
S. D. Ruler
Alexander R. Raven
N. F. Reid
1896 D. :
1897 J. M. Terrell
W. C. Wilson
E. W. Fox
W. H. Bobbitt
J. E. Bristone
M. M. McFarland
C. R. Ross
J. M. Ormond
S. W. Craword
T. M. Grant
J. T. Harris
J. T. Harris
J. E. Blalock
H. P. Cole
S. F. Nicks
H. F. Cole
J. L. Smith
J. H. Wheeler
A. J. Parker
J. H. Wheeler
F. A. Lupton
J. H. Wheeler
J. V. Earley
J. H. Wheeler
S. F. Nicks
1880-1882 J. 0. Guthrie
C. S. Hubbard
1883-1885 J. E. Gray
W. L. Maness
L. E. Thompson
A. M. Williams
J. G. Nelson
W. A. Seawell
1888-1890 W. H. Puckett
S. T. Kirabrough, Jr.
J. M. Lowder
E. F. Smith
1893 D. N. Caviness
FRANCIS ASBURY was the "Father of American Methodism." He
was born near Birmingham, England, 1745. In 1771 he came to America
Bishop Francis Asbury
Rev. H. P. Cole
Pastor — Hillsborough, N. C.
as a Missionary. He traveled about 6,000 miles a year on horse-back. He
was the first circuit rider in America.
In 1784, John Wesley appointed Asbury and Thomas Coke joint super-
intendents of the Methodist societies in America. Later, Asbury was elected
to the same position at a conference of Mehodist preachers in Baltimore.
This was the beginning of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the United
States. Asbury was the real head and used the title of Bishop.
Dr. Thomas Coke in 1786, stopped at the home of Thomas Grenshaw,
in Hanover County, Virginia, and organized the first Sunday School in
the United States. From this school came John Charleston, a noted Metha-
dist itinerate who as a boy attended the first session and was converted
soon afterward. Asbury formed no fewer than a hundred of them in
various parts of the United States.
(From: The Life of Bishop Asbury — By Herbert Asbury — Page No. 186)
1780 — New Hope Circuit
Bethel Academy, built entirely by subscriptions raised on the circuits.
80' by 40', 3 stories high.
The legislature, at an early period, made a
land to Bethel Academy, located in Christian
The project originated with Mr. Asbury, Francis Poythress, Isaac
Hite, of Jefferson; Colonel Hinde, of Nelson; Willis Green, of Lincoln;
Richard Masterson, of Fayette; and Mr. Lewis, of Jessamine.
Among the eight pioneers of Methodism in Kentucky and Tennessee
donation of 6000 acres of
County, South of Green
in the year 1788, the name of F. Poythress stands preeminent. By those
intrepid heroes of the Cross the foundation of Methodism was laid in
those states, on which others have since built, and others are now building.
Their names ought to be held in grateful remembrance by all who love
our Lord Jesus Christ in sincerity and truth.
Rev. Hiram Pearson Cole was married in 1878 to Lucy Ann Phillips
of Hillsborough. He died in 1883, leaving beside his widow two girls,
Elizabeth, age 2% years and Lucy Mayfield Cole, 1 year old. He joined
N. C. Conference in 1866, served in Hillsboro, Raleigh, Winston, and Con-
cord. He died in his first year on the Concord Circuit, after serving the
Main Street Concord Church four years.
The Phillips family lived in the house now owned by Mrs. Mary Riley.
They donated the silver Communion Service which is displayed in the
vestibule of the Hillsboro Methodist Church.
This information was furnished by Lucy Mayfield Cole, married to
Mr. Thomas Gattis, who lives in Washington, D. C.
B. F. Guthfie was born in 1817, in Chatham County, North Carolina.
Joined the conference in 1858, Newbern, N. C. Rev. Guthrie served in
Hillsboro, N. C. in 1860 and 1861. He died in 1862 in Virginia and was
buried in Chatham County.
Alexander Raven was born in 1833, Greene County, North Carolina.
He joined the conference 1860 at Salisbury, N. C. Rev. Raven served
in the year 1863. Died 1901, and was buried in Mt. Olive, N. C.
J. T. Harris was born 1844, Davidson County, N. C. Joined the con-
ference 1870, at Greensboro, N. C. He served Hillsboro 1872 and 1873.
He died 1890 and was buried in Durham, N. C.
N. F. Reid was born 1825, Rockingham Coun'y, North Carolina. Joined
conference 1851. He served Hillsboro, N. C. 1864 and 1865.
L. E. Thompson was born 1855, Moore County, North Carolina. He
joined conference 1878 at Charlotte, N. C. Served Hillsboro, N. C. in the
year 1886. Rev. Thompson died in 1931 and was buried in Lexington, N. C.
J. G. Nelson was born 1862, Iredell County, North Carolina. Rev.
Nelson served Hillsborough in 1887.
W. H. Puckett was born 1856, Tyrrell County North Carolina. He
joined conference 1886, Reidsville, N. C. Served Hillsborough, N. C. 1888
and 1889. He died 1912 and was buried in Smithfield, N. C.
W. H. Bobbitt was born 1816 at Halifax County, North Carolina.
Joined the conference 1846 at Newbern, N. C. He served Hillsborough,
N. C, in 1867, 1868, and 1869.
William Barringer was born in 1816 in Cabarrus County, North Carolina.
Joined the conference 1844 at Columbia, S. C. He served Hillsborough,
N. C. in 1870. Rev. Barringer died in 1873, and was buried in Greens-
boro, N. C.
D. N. Caviness was born 1850, Moore County, North Carolina. He
entered the conference 1892 at Goldsboro, N. C. Served the Hillsborough
Church 1893, 1894, and 1895. He died 1937 and was buried in Raleigh, N. C.
J. H. Wheeler was born in 1810, in Newark, N. J. He joined the con-
ference in 1834 at Charleston, S. C. Rev. Wheeler served Hillsborough,
N. C, in 1876, 1877, 1878, and 1879.
The Rev. Doctor Newby Caviness
Pastor, Hillsborough — Dec. 1892-1896
J. O. Guthrie was born 1855 at Chatham County, North Carolina. He
joined the conference in 1879 at Wilson, N. C. Served Hillsborough, N. C.
in 1880-1882. Rev. Guthrie died 1927 and was buried in Dillon, S. C.
Thomas McMillan Grant was born in Wilmington, July 28, 1886. He
was the son of Reuben and Elizabeth McMillan Grant. Rev. Grant was
admitted to the North Carolina Conference in 1909. Served the Hillsbor-
ough Church in 1915-1916. On December 8th, 1910, he married Miss
Marlene Harrell. Mrs. Grant died April 20th, 1915. He re-married June
13th, 1918 to Miss Marie Hooker.
Thomas Grant was a faithful, honored and loved preacher. He was
buried at Rocky Mount, N. C. His funeral service was conducted by Bishop
Paul N. Garber.
Rev. James Monroe Lowder was born in Stanly County near Albe-
marle on Dec. 31st, 1852. He was married to Miss Sue Shanklin March
23rd, 1881.He was licensed to preach at Fayetteville in Feb. 1885. Died
at Rutherford College, N. C. August 16, 1940. He was buried at Norwood,
Jesse Marvin Ormond (1878-1959) was born in Greene County, North
Carolina, the son of John James and Nancy Jane Ormond. His was a
goodly and Godly heritage, and he lived up to the obligations of that
Dr. Ormond was an alumnus of Duke University, having received
his A.B. degree from Trinity College in 1902. He received his theological
training in Vanderbilt University and the University of Chicago. He was
awarded the B.D. degree from the former institution in 1910. Randolph-
Macon College conferred the degree of Doctor of Divinity upon him in
Dr. Ormond's work was divided between pastorate and the school-
room. His pastorates included the following charges: Leasburg, Hills-
borough, Hertford, and First Church, Elizabeth City. He held professorships
in Southern Methodist University and Duke University. He also served
as director of the rural church work of the Duke Endowment. He supervised
the work of more than 1,200 Duke students who served as assistant pastors
in the rural field.
Dr. Ormond's success was due in large measure to the inspiration of
his almost lifelong sweetheart and wife, Katrina Kern. To them were born
the following children who survive him: Reverend J. Kern Ormond, Mrs.
Thomas Lide, Mrs. Wannamaker Harden, Mrs. Minetree Pyne, and Mrs.
Jackson Lafayette Smith was born August 8, 1876 in the Cold Springs
community of Cabarrus County, about 4 miles from Concord. He is the son
of the late Francis Marion Smith and Susan Hedrick Smith. His living
brothers are J. J. and C. C. Smith of Kannapolis, and his sister is Mrs.
Horace Blackwelder, of Charlotte.
In 1898 he went to Charlotte where he went to work for a wholesale
groceryman and later opened his own store.
"All the time," he said, "I felt the call to peach," but could not
Dr. Jesse Marvin Ormond
Pastor— Hillsborough 1911-1915
Rev. J. L. Smith
Pastor — Hillsborough 1927
Rev. S. F. Nicks
Pastor at Hillsborough
Rev. J. V. Early, D.D.
Pastor Hillsborough Methodist
tear himself away from the grocery business. Finally the day came when
he went home and told his wife of his life's ambition.
Mr. Smith was educated in the public schools in Cabarrus County, a
private school in Charlotte, tutored by the laie Dr. J. E. Davidson, widely-
known Presbyterian minister, attended Weaver College, Emory Univrsity,
and Duke University.
He and Mrs. Smith have three children: Mrs. George Gilmore of Hills-
borough. Mrs. W. H. Stokes, Greenville, S. C, and Fred A. Smith of Zebu-
Ion, superintendent of Wake County Schools.
Mr. Smith's first circuit was in McDowell County, his home in Marion.
His salary was $600.00 a year.
From Camden he was sent to Tyrell County, then to Bladen County,
to Laurinburg in Scotland County, then to Hillsborough in Orange County,
and back east to Perquimans County at Winfall, and to Ahoskie and to
Northampton County, and finally to Oxford in Granville County, where
he retired in 1948. He came back to Cabarrus County and Kannapolis to
live on January 5, 1956. From: Local Newspaper, Kannapolis, N. C.
Frederick Arthur Lupton was born Nov. 6th, 1882, at Whortonsville,
Pamlico Couny, North Carolina. Educated at Trinity College, Durham,
N. C. He was admitted to the North Carolina Conference in 1913. His
Ministry was spent in North Carolina, but for the exception of one pastor-
ate at Scranton, S. C.
He married Miss Reva Bridgman, of Lake Lanning, Norih Carolina.
They were blessed with four sons and one daughter.
After retiring, he lived in Graham, N. C. Died October 3, 1954 at
Wesley Long Hospital, Greensboro, N. C. The Masons had charge of the
graveside service. He was pastor of Cedar Grove Methodist Church and
Hillsborough Methodist Church in Orange County.
Rev. Asa Joseph Parker was born in Hertford County, North Caro-
lina Oct. 6th, 1867. He joined the Church while a small child. He joined the
North Carolina Conference in 1889.
On Nov. 13, 1889, he was married to Miss Martha M. Barrow of Hert-
ford County. There were three children. Besides their own children, they
reared two others, Catherine Jones and Charles Vale, Jr. He sang the
gospel as well as he preached. He served Hillsborough 1928-1931. Died
Aug. 31, 1932 and was buried in Raleigh, N. C.
A Sketch of the Life of Rev. S. F. Nicks
Samuel Freeman, son of Mr. and Mrs. R. J. Nicks, eight miles south
of Mebane in Orange County, North Carolina, was born January 21, 1874.
Rev. Nicks attended Caldwell Institute in Orage County, finished
there in the spring of 1899. He entered Trinity (now Duke University)
that fall and was in the graduating class of 1903. In December, 1903, he
was admitted to the North Carolina Conference at Goldsboro. Rev. Nicks
married Miss Emma Woods of Hillsborough, N. C, on December 24, 1903.
Rev. Nicks served his first charge at Burlington Circuit. He remained
there four years. Burlington Circuit was composed of eight churches:
Glenco, Big Falls, Carolina Bethel, Mt. Vernon, Shiloh, Prospect and
Cedar Grove 1933-1940
Rev. Hicks retired in 1945 at Conference in Goldsboro.
Rev. Hicks served as pastor of the Hillsborough charge twice during his
ministry. His first period began in November 1923 and ran un il Nov.,
During this time he served five churches: Hillsboro, West Hillsborough,
New Sharon, Lebanon, and. Palmers' Grove. It was said by members of
other churches that Brother Nicks was worth his salary just to live in
the community, and some members of other churches offered to raise a
salary for him to remain in the community after his fourth conference
year was completed.
Rev. Nicks returned to Hillsboro thirteen years after his first period
of service on the charge. The charge at that time consisted of four
churches: Hillsborough, New Sharon, Palmer's Grove and Union Grove.
Shortly after the beginning of his term of service, he suggested a
twelve thousand dollar addition of rooms to be added as a part of the
regular church building. Several business meetings were held and Mr.
Robert Forrest and A. A. Lloyd were elected to raise the necessary money.
For every three thousand dollars raised, the Duke Endowment Fund
would give one thousand dollars.
It was a hard job to raise this money, but by hard work it was
finally done. A lot of free labor was given. Rev. Nicks worked long hours
in this work, raising money and doing the carpenter work.
Rev. Nicks is one of the greatest pastors who has ever served the
Hillsborough Charge. He was loved, not noly by the members of the Meth(
dist Church, but by all who knew him, regardless of church affiliation, de-
nomination, race or color. He was a man who would never say "No" when
something was being done for a brother or sister.
Rev. S. F. Nicks served forty-two years in the Durham District. He
and his family moved in their own home, which is across the street from
the last parsonage in which they lived, in Hillsborough, N. C. He died Oc-
tober 28, 1946.
Rev. Joyce V. Early, D.D. — (106 Rockingham Road, Rockingham, N. C.)
Rev. Early, son on the late Mr. and Mrs. R. P. Early of Raleigh. Born
in Lattimore, N. C. and lived in Person and Granville Counties.
He was educated in the public schools of N. C, Asbury College, As-
bury Theological Seminary, and the Duke Divinity School. He was awarded
Doctor of Divinity degree by the Asbury Seminary in May, 1956.
He joined the N. C. Annual Conference in 1934, and has served the
following appointments: Manners, 2 years; Hillsborough, 4 years; Smith-
field, 4 years; and four years as pastor of Grace Church, Wilmington. He
is now beginning his second year as pastor of First Church, Rockingham.
He has led in the building of seven new churches; the organization
of four new congregations; the building of three new parsonages; and in
Wilmington, the construction of educational building at Grace Church.
Dr. Early was married to Miss Christine Stansbury of La Grange,
Texas, on December 28, 1934. One child, a son, J. Virgil Early, Jr., 22,
graduated from the University of North Carolina, 1960. He is now in
the U.S. Army.
Rev. C. S. Hubbard
Pastor— Hillsborough 1945-1951
Rev. W. L. Maness
Pastor — 1951 1952
Rev. A. M. Williams
Pastor Hillsborough Methodist
Rev. W. A. Sea we 1 1
Pastor Hillsboro Methodist Church
Rev. S. T. Kimbrough, Jr.
Pastor— Hillsborough— 1958-1962
Rev. E. F. Smith — 1962-
Pastor Hillsborough Methodist
Rev. C. S. Hubbard, born at Sanford, N. C. Educated at U.N.C. and
Duke University. Served churches at Roseboro, N. C, Hillsborough Charge,
Raleigh and Chapel Hill. He has served nine years at Chapel Hill, N. C.
and seven years at Hillsborough, N. C.
Rev. W. L. Maness was educated at Trinity College and Elon College.
He joined the North Carolina Conference in 1915. He was ordained a
Deacon in 1917 and an Elder in 1919. Served in the active ministry for
forty-one years, in Erwin, Jackson, Raeford, Fayetteville, Siler City, Rox-
boro, Snow Hill, Yanceyville, Parkton, Gibson, Hillsborough, and Elm City.
Rev. Maness averaged 3 x /2 years in each place.
He retired in 1956 at the age of 66, but he has done supply work
organizing Christ Church South, Graham, supplied five months at Pitts-
boro Circuit and has assisted many ministers on Sundays and in Revival
Rev. A. M. Williams is now pastor of Fletcher's Chapel Methodist
Church, Route 5, Box 426-A, Durham, N. C. He is now nearing the close
of thirty years in the ministry. The preparation for his work was done in
the Duke Divinity School. Rev. Williams has spent sixteen years in the
Rev. W. A. Sea well entered the ministry in 1947, at the age of 32
years. He received his education at Elon College, Duke Divinity School,
and Emory University. Married and has three children, two girls and
one boy. He served the following charges: the Pittsboro Charge, Pitts-
boro, N. C; Salem-Chapel Charge, Graham, N. C; Hillsborough Charge,
Hillsborough, N. C, and Roxboro, N. C. He now serves Carr Methodist
Church, 107 N. Driver Ave, Durham, N. C.
Rev. S. T. K imb rough was born at Athens, Alabama, son of Rev. and
Mrs. S. T. Kimbrough. He was educated at Birmingham Southern College
and Duke University. He was Pastor of Acmar Methodist Church, Acmar,
Ala. Assistant Pastor, Eleventh Ave. Methodist, Birmingham, Ala., and
Youth Minister, Canterbury Methodist, B : rmingham, Ala. He is married
to Sarah Robinson Kimbrough, has four sons, David, Timothy, Steven,
and Mark. He is a member of the North Alabama Conference.
REV. E. F. SMITH
Born in Cheraw, S. C, Edward F. Smith grew up in Fayetteville.
He is a graduate of Louisburg College, Duke University, Duke Divinity
School and the Ecole coloniale in Brussels, Belgium. He has also studied
in the Duke Graduate School, the Kennedy School of Missions of the
Hartford Seminary Foundation and the Institute of Far Eastern Languages
of Yale University.
He joined the North Carolina Conference in 1946 and served Maybrook
Church for one year, then the Leasburg Circuit (then five churches)
for five years. He and Mrs. Smith were accepted for service in Africa
by the Methodist Board of Missions, beginning this work in September
1952. They spent ten years in this work in the area of the present Congo
Republic and state of Katanga. They were appointed to Hillsborough Meth-
odist Church in 1962.
Mrs. Smith is the former Janet Wellons, whose parents were mis-
sionaries in India, where Mrs. Smith was born and grew up. They have
three children, Edward F. Ill, David A., and Sally J.
HILLSBOROUGH METHODIST CHURCH
ORGANIZED — 1807
HILLSBOROUGH METHODIST CHURCH was organized about 1807. It
belonged to Haw River Circuit, and its preachers were William Beam
and Joel Arlington. The first preaching services were held in the old
In 1821, in a letter written by Rev. Henry Hardy, Dec. 14, 1821, and
printed in the Methodist Magazine, states a camp-meeting was held in
Hillsborough, and about thirty-eight joined the Methodist faith. They open-
ed a subscription for the purpose of raising funds to build a house of wor-
ship. They obtained many donations. The copy of the letter was written
by J. L. Harriss on November 26, 1874 at Hillsborough, N. C.
Book No. 20, Page 378: The Hillsborough Methodist Church bought
from James Webb February, 1823. This deed has been checked by two
lawyers and is believed to be true.
£fiAj£, & r /f-f'* Built 185f by Captain John Berry
This indenture made the twenty-first day in the year of our Lord
1823, between James Webb of Orange County, of the one part and Thomas
Snipes of the County of Chatham and Joseph G. Bacon, William Robson,
William Faucette and Joel Reynolds of Orange County, Trustees for the
Methodist Episcopal Church established in the town of Hillsborough, of
the other part witnesseth that the said James Webb for and in considera-
tion of the sum of 10 shillings of lawful money of the state aforesaid to
them on hand paid by the said trustees at or before the sealing and de-
livering of these presents (the receipt whereof the said James Webb doth
hereby acknowledge) hath given granted bargained and sold aleigned con-
formed and conveyed and doth by these presents give grant bargain sell
aleign, confirm and convey unto the said said Thomas Snipes, Joseph G.
Bacon, William Robson, William Faucette, and Joel Reynolds, Trustees as
aforesaid and their successors in office a certain tract and parcel of land
part of a lot (on which part of the house now stands) known in the plan of
the Town of Hillsborough by lot 102 situated lying and being in the
town aforesaid and bounded as follows: Beginning on Tryon Street, thence
along said street East 44 feet, thence nor.h 44 feet, thence west 44 feet,
then south 44 feet to the beginning on Tryon Street to have and to hold
the said lot and parcel of land to them and other successors in office in
Trust for the benefit of the Methodist Episcopal Church aforesaid, pro-
vided never-the-less upon this condition that they keep or cause to be kept
a Meeting House upon the said lot for for the use and benefit of the Metho-
dist Episcopal Church aforesaid and in case of failure for ten years at
any one time to keep a building upon the said lot for the above mentioned
purpose then this grant and conveyance to be void and of no effect and
the said James Webb and his heirs may revert and the said James Webb
doth for himself and his heirs covenant to and with the said Trustees and
their successors that the said James Webb and his heirs the right of the
said Trustees, and other successors against the right title interest or claim
of the said James Webb and his heirs of all living other persons claiming
by through or under shall and will warrant and forever defend in wit-
nesseth whereof the said James Webb hath hereunto set his hand and
offered his seal this day and year above written.
James Webb (Sealed)
Feb. Ten, 1823
Signed In Presence of
Mr. James Webb was a Physician and lived near the home of Mr.
Sam Hughes. He owned a Drug Store located across the street from his
home, and also owned a large amount of land in Hillsborough. The Church
property went back to the Webb family. As late as 1920, the Webb family
owned this land.
The first Hillsborough Methodist Church was built of wood and located
on or near the property now owned by Mrs. Odell Clayton, which is west
of the R.E.A. Property. The house used as the Church was built before
the Methodist Church bought the land.
The leading members were as follows: Joseph G. Bacon, Wiliam Rob-
son, William Faucette, Joel Reynolds, Samuel Garrett, Thomas Holden,
William Harris, and William Brown (grandfather of N. W. Brown).
Mr. W. H. Brown (grandfather of N. H. Brown) came to Hillsborough
in the year 1840. He was on his way to Tennessee and was persuaded by a
Mr. Kirkland to live in Hillsborough. His home was located near Walker's
Funeral Home. He owned the land where Corner Drug Store and Mary's
Shop are now located. Mr. Brown owned Demmock Mill and a Tannery
west of Hillsborough and was the leading member in the old Methodist
Church. His wife was a French woman.
Church — 1859: The deed for the Hillsborough Methodist Church is re-
corded in Deed Book 36, Pages 156 and 157, dated April 4, 1859, from
Henry N. Brown to Methodist Episcopal Church South, which conveys a tract
of land fronting on Tryon Street 100 feet, with a depth of 150 feet. The
lot number is 95.
Henry N. Brown sold the land to the Church April 4, 1859. $200.00
was paid for the land. Joseph Bacon, William H. Brown, William Stray-
horn, John McMann, Sam Filmore, Robert Faucette and Roseoe Hooker
were Trustees at this time.
The old church showed much sign of the tooth of time when its mem-
bers decided to build a new structure on a different lot. The money was
raised for the building, and Captain John Berry was given the contract.
He took the old building as part pay for the job and moved the timber
two miles east of Hillsborough and used it for outbuildings.
The Board of Stewards at this time were Henry N. Brown, Chm.,
Dr. O. Hooker, Secretary and Treasurer. (Dr. O. Hooker was a medical
doctor and after he became unable to travel, he opened a drug store, now
known as James Pharmacy), Daniel D. Phillips, I. R. Gattis, D. A. Robert-
son, I. A. Hedgepeth, and H. L. Owens. The membership was composed of
many of the leading citizens of the town
During the war, when the Confederates found that they were lacking
in cannons to hold their lines, they tried to get the church to donate the
bell to be melted and added to their cannon supply, but the church turned
down the proposition.
In 1886, the church had a membership of 81. It emerged from the
smoke of war, which had raged about it for four years, with many of her
members left on the battlefield and others scattered to the four corners
of the earth. (Since that day, some very strong men have served it as
pastors: N. H. Wilson, J. H. Wheeler, whose wife was buried in the front
yard of the church, W. C. Wilson, T. M. Grant, J. Ormond, S. F. Nicks.
J. L. Smith, and A. J. Parker).
This article was taken from the News and Observer, March 13, 1952.
At this time, there were 192 members in Sunday School, with 152 stu-
dents. J. Clyde Ray, Superintendent. The Epworth League with 26 mem-
bers, presided over by J. B. Midgett. The Charge Layleader was Professor
G. . A. Brown; F. Y. Noell, Secretary; R. J. Forrest, Treasurer; J. L. Brown,
N. W. Brown, E. C. Liner, J. Clyde Ray, and Fred Smith were members
of the Board.
Preaching services First Sunday Nights, Second Sunday 11:00 a.m.,
and 7:30 p.m., Sunday School at 9:45. T. M. Arrowsmith was Mayor of
In 1851 considerable space was given to reports of the Sunday School
in the Districts of North Carolina. Hillsborough Circuit, 12 schools, 54 of-
ficers and teachers, 415 scholars. The catechism of the church was placed
at the earliest time in the hands of the parents and children to help stim-
ulate the children to obtain the knowledge of God.
In 1880 the following papers were being used in the Sunday School
work: "Sunday School Teachers Magazine," Lesson Quarterlies, "Sunday
School Visitor," "Our Little People," and "The Infant Class." Song books
advertised were "The Gem," "Amaranth" and "New Life."
In 1881 a complaint was frequently heard, that some people were
observed leaving Sunday School and not remaining for Church. (No one
but the person himself was to blame.) (From 1950 — News clipping.)
In 1892, there were six Churches on the Hillsborough Methodist
The New Methodist Church in Hillsboro was dedicated to the service
of God by the Rev. William Barringer on the 6 h day of October, 1861.
The text was Col. 1:27, 28 "Which is Christ in you the hope of glory;
whom we preach." (Rev. Barringer was F.E. of the Raleigh District.)
The first sermon preached in the church by Rev. Jesse A. Curringgins,
from Psalms 51:12 and 13 verses.
When the church was first built the floor in the Sanctuary was slant-
ing downward toward the pulpit. There was a large stove in the middle
aisle at the back of the church. The pipe that was used is still in ihe
attic of the church. There was also another stove where the organ is
now located. Several years later a furnace was installed in the Church
with the opening for the floor furnace on the east side near the first row
In the year 1935, a steam heating sys'em was installed in the church.
This system is still being used but has been changed from a coal stoker
furnace to oil which is much simpler in operating.
In the summer of 1961 an air conditioning unit was installed.
The Bible in the Church was printed at the University Press, Oxford,
London, England, sold by E. Gardner and Son, Oxford Bible Warehouse.
Written on the Bible is as follows: Methodist Episcopal Church, Hills-
borough, N. C, 1860.
Hillsborough Methodist Church Parsonage — 1961
Parsonage: On April 13, 1891 Mr. C. M. Parks sold land to Hillsboruogh
Methodist Church. H. N. Brown, Sr., S. M. Gattis, J. Harris, and a Mr.
Corley were trustees of the Church. (S. M. Gattis was Clerk of Superior
Court.) The first parsonage used was located on this land now owned by
Mr. S. Strudwick. The house now is the home of Mr. Paul Hogan. During
this time, Reverend Fox was pastor of the Hillsborough Methodist Church
Miss Mary Spurgeon and Mrs. Mary Riley have told the story of visiting
the home of Rev. Fox about the year 1900. The house was sold to a colored
man by the name of Moore. Later, Mr. Paul Hogan's father bought the
April 29th, 1903 the members of the Hillsborough Methodist Church
desired a new location for the parsonage. They sold the land to Mr. S.
Strudwick, and the house was moved to the present location, now occupied
Mr. Paul Hogan.
The first Methodist Parsonage. Is one of the oldest houses in Hills-
borough. At that time, it was located on the lot now owned by Mr. S.
Strudwick. Now the home of Mr. and Mrs. P. W. Hogan.
The land was bounded on the north by Union Street, east by James
Norwood, south by James Norwood, and west by Churton Street. The land
contained .9 acres.
Trustees were as follows: H. N. Brown, Sr., S. M. Gattis, J. A. Harris,
O. J. Forrest, and James Hedgepeth.
H. Hamilton was Clerk of Court at this time. (This information from
Book No. 57, Pages 208 and 209.)
The present location of the parsonage was bought from James Webb
April 30, 1903. George C. Corbin bought this property Oct. 30, 1878 and
sold the land and house to James Webb, Jr. and Joseph C. Webb, in
January, 1890. (James Webb, Jr. was a son of Dr. James Webb.) The land
north and east was owned by Mrs. Susan W. Graham. This lot was known,
as No. 94. $
James R. Gattis and Mary A. Gattis sold this property to George C.
Corbin October 8, 1878. One thousand, three hundred and fifty dollars was
paid for the property.
The house used as the parsonage in 1903 was a five room house, one
story in height. Reverend Blalock was pastor about the year 1920 when
the house was remodeled and a second story was added. This house was
used until the year 1956 when Reverend Seawell was pas'or.
The present parsonage was built in the years 1957-58. The dedication
service was on Sunday, March 9, 1958 at 3:00 p.m. The building committee
chairman was Taylor Bivins. The pastor, Rev. W. A. Seawell, was serving,
and the District Superintendent was Dr. C. D. Barclift. The cost of the
building was about $22,000.00. New Sharon Church and Hillsborough
Methodist Church built the parsonage together. Two years later, each
church became a station Church.
The lot, No. 94, contains 264 feet depth and 165 feet frontage.
Sunday School 1908-1909
Rev. M. M. McFariland was pastor of the Hillsborough Methodist
Church in the year 1908. Miss Carrie Dunn was treasurer of the Sunday
School and J. A. Harris was superindent. N. W. Brown was Assistant Super-
intendent. Teachers included Mr. H. N. Brown, Mrs. W E. Stewart, Mrs.
N. W. Brown, Mrs. M. M. McFarland, and Miss Maggie Forrest.
Collection for January
Collection for February
Collection for March
Collection for April
J. A. Harris
N. W. Brown
Mrs. H. N. Brown
Mrs. John Roach
R. T. Haley
O. D. Turner
J. C. Scott
H. N. Brown, Jr.
Mrs. R. T. Haley
Mrs. H. N. Brown, Jr,
Lee O. Brown
Mrs. Charlie Crabtree
Bertie (A. T.) Lloyd
Mrs. W. L. Smith
The membership of our Church School 1909 was 100. Mr. J. A. Harris
was superintendent. Mr. Bertie Lloyd, Assistant Superintendent, and Miss
Carrie Dunn, Secretary ad Treasurer. Teachers were as follows: Mrs.
H. N. Brown, Mrs. N. W. Brown, Mrs. W. E. Stewart, Mrs. M. M. Mc
Farland, Mrs. R. T. Haley, and Mr. N. W. Brown.
Membership Methodist Church — year about 1910
Mr. Speck Faucette — Treasurer
N. W. Brown
Rubie G. Brown
H. N. Brown
Henry Brown, Jr.
J. L. Brown
Mrs. J. L. Brown
Alan Browning, Jr.
T. J. Burroughs
J. E. Carter
Mrs. J. E. Carter
N. L. Causey
Sallie W. Christmas
Mrs. Mary Cole
Mrs. Annie Cole
J. M. Conklin
Maggie E. Forrest
Ben B. Forrest
Mary Belle Forrest
S. M. Gattis, Sr.
S. M. Gattis, Jr.
Mrs. J. G. Godfre*
Mrs. Roan Graham
B. O. Hester
M. E. Hester
Frances N. Hester
J. C. Haley
Joe P. Hassell
Louise W. Hassell
Mrs. Henry Her
Mrs. Ida Johnson
W. H. Jordan
Wm. P. Jordan
Mrs. Annie Jordan
Cora H. Lewis
Annie C. Lockhart
C. G. Rosemond
J. C. Scott
Mrs. Mattie Taylor
C. C. Tilley
Mrs. C. C. Tiley
Annie Belle Tilley
C. D. Turner
J. F. Turner
Wm. C. Crabtree
O. G. Crawford
R. D. Daniel
Mrs. Ida Daniel
Mary Helen Daniel
Fletcher R. Faucette
R. C. Faucette
A. T. Lloyd
Mary W. Lloyd
Thelbert W. Lloyd
Mrs. Thomas E. Lynch
Miss Emma Pogue
Carrie G. Porter
C. J. Ray
John C. Ray
J. Clyde Ray
J. R. Roach
S. P. Lockhart
Carrie B. Lockhart
F. Y. Noell
W. B. Rosemond
Mrs. W. B. Rosemond
Sanctuary of Hillsborough Methodist Church
Cross carved by Mr. S. Strudwick, 1957
G. A. Brown
Several years ago the HILLSBOROUGH CHARGE consisted of about
seven Churches. As late as the years 1940-1945, there were at least four
churches on this charge. Churches that were connected with the Church
over the past years are as follows:
New Sharon Church — |
New Sharon Church, organized in 1768
Union Grove Methodist Church was organzied in 1846. Leaders were:
Thomas Long, Lemuel Carroll, Thomas C. Hayes, Calvin Bishop, and
Daniel Thomas. First pastor: Alston Gray. Cornerstone present building
laid 1946. This Church seats about 200; membership — 100.
Lebanon Methodist Church, organized in 1820; building erected in 1937.
The old building was destroyed in 1936. The church seats 250; member-
ship — 145.
Cedar Grove Methodist Church was organized about 1830; present build-
ing erected in 1937, seats 200, membership — 225.
New Cedar Grove Church — 1937
Eno Methodist Church was organized about 1913. This Church is located
in West Hillsborough. Membership: 147.
Palmer's Grove Methodist Church was organized in the early 1920's.
The church was erected in 1938. Leaders in its organization were: E. T.
Blakeley, R. F. Murdock, and T. H. Yates. Membership: 106.
Choir Director, Organist, and Pianist, Hillsborough Methodist Church
Mrs. Anne Lockhart served as Choir Director for several years; Mrs.
Pauline Lloyd served as Organist and Sunday School teacher for 25 years;
Miss Grace Bivins served as pianist; Mrs. Agnes Lloyd Mincey served as
pianist; Mrs. J. J. Ward served as pianist; Miss Frances Carter, pianist;
Mrs. E. R. Dowdy, Choir Director.
Walnut Grove Methodist Church
Organized about 1850; building erected in 1939
OTHER HILLSBOROUGH CHURCHES
First Baptist Church
Hillsborough Baptist Church
Ij^fiifiH b y Ca P ta?n ^ ohn Berr y
Presbyterian Church — 1816
Episcopal Church built 1824.
The land was given by Chief
Justice Thomas Ruffin
HILLSBOROUGH METHODIST CHURCH
Superintendents of Sunday School
1900 to 1961
H. N. Brown
J. A. Harris
N. W. Brown
A. T. Lloyd (Assistant)
*Served longer than anyone else.
J. Clyde Ray (1925-1932)
G. A. Brown
J. B. Midgett*
Sunday School Teachers — 1900-1961
N. W. Brown
Mrs. N. W. Brown
Mr. G. A. Brown
Mrs. H. H. Brown
Mr. Alan Browning (39 years)
Mrs. J. E. Blalock
Mrs. Stella Nicks Bartlett
Mr. Paul Carr
Mrs. Bera Cates
Mr. Marion Clark
Mr. R. D. Daniels
Mrs. J. V. Early
Mrs. E. W Fox
Miss Mary B. Forrest
Miss Maggie Forrest
Mrs. R. T. Haley
Mr. Vance Isenhour
Mr. Otto King
Mrs. F. A. Lupton
Mrs. Pauline 0. Lloyd
A. A. Lloyd
Miss Rebecca Liner
Mrs. Molly Latta
Mr. J. B. Midgett
Dr. H. W. Moore
Mr. Vance Martin
Mrs. M. M. McFarland
Mrs. Agnes Lloyd Mincey
Mrs. S. F. Nicks
Mrs. J. R. Ormond
Mrs. Mamie Ray
Mr. J. C. Ray
Mrs. Mary Riley
Mrs. C. R. Ross
Mrs. W. E. Stewart
Mr. Ted Shoaf
Mrs. Hattie D. Williams
Mr. O. L. Thomas
Mrs. O. L. Thomas
Mrs. J. F. Turner
Mrs. A. M. Williams
Mrs. Vera Whitaker
Mrs. Ira Ward
Mrs. J. J. Ward
- Methodist Church — 1961
Bacon, J. J.
Bason, Mrs. Earl
Brown, Mrs. J. L.
Ballard, Mrs. John
Brown, Mrs. Lucius
Brown, Lucius, III
Brown, Herman, Jr.
Brown, G. A.
Brown, Mrs. G. A.
Browning, Mrs. Alan
Broili, Grace Mitchell
Burch, Mrs. Hugh
Cates, Mrs. M. L., Sr.
Cates, James R.
Cates, M. L., Jr.
Cates, Mrs. M. L., Jr.
Cates, Mrs. Chandler
Cates, Karl M.
Cates, Mrs. Madison
Cole, Mrs. Annie B.
Cole, Mrs. C. C.
Coman, J. H.
Coman, Mrs. J. H.
Carr, Mr. and Mrs. G. P., Sr.
Carr, Paul, Jr.
Cromer, Mrs. C. T.
Chance, Mrs. Wiliam
Conklin, Mrs. J. M.
Crabtree, Mrs. Jim
Crabtree, Mrs. N. D.
Crawford, Mrs. Ann
Dowdy, E. R.
Dowdy, Mrs. E. R.
Dowdy, Judy Carol
Forrest, Mrs. Billye
Forrest, Mrs. R. O.
Forrest, Mary B.
Forrest, Mrs. Virginia
Forrest, Mrs. Roy
Forrest, Mrs. Bobby
French, Grace Bivins
Gattis, Mrs. Virginia
Gordon, Mr. and Mrs. B. P., Sr.
Gordon, B. P., Jr.
Gilmore, Mrs. Robert
Gentry, Mrs. Paul
Hayes, Mrs. Maude
Huvane, Helen R.
James, Mrs. Oma
Kenyon, Mrs. Van
Kenyon, S. Alice
Kenyon, V. L., m
King, Mrs. Otto
King, W. C.
Kimbrough, S. T.
Kimbrough, Mrs. S. T.
Knight, Mrs. Clarence
Laws, Mrs. Ed
Liner, E. C.
Liner, Mrs. E. C.
Liner, N. Carol
Latta, Mrs. Molly
Liner, Miss Rebecca
Lloyd, A. A.
Lloyd, Nellie R. (Haithcock)
Loftin, Mrs. Dalton
Lockhart, Mrs. Annie
Lynch, Mrs. Daisy
Martin, Mrs. Vance
Marshall, R. C.
Marshall, Mrs. R. C.
Mays, H. M.
Mays, Mrs. H. M.
Midgett, J. B.
Miller, rs. Jack
Miller , Cecil
Miller, Mrs. Cecil
Miller, Mrs. Leroy
Minnis, Mrs. Odell
Minnis, J. S.
Minnis, R. C, Jr.
Minnis, Mrs. R. C, Jr.
Mitchell, Mrs. Wm.
Mitchell, Wm., Jr.
Moore, Dr. H. W.
Moore, Mrs. H. W.
Moore, Faye T.
Noel, F. Y.
Nicks, Mrs. S. F.
Norris, Mrs. John
Patterson, Mrs. Quentin
Powell, Mrs. Horace
Parrish, C. B.
Farrish, Mrs. C. B.
Porter, F. R.
Riley, Mrs. Herbert
Reinhardt, Joe F.
Reinhardt, Mrs. Joe
Rheinhardt, Betty L.
Ray, J. Clyde
Ray, Mrs. Mamie
Richmond, Mrs. J. W.
Richmond, J. W., Jr.
Rhew, Mrs. Curtis
Rosemond, J. F.
Rosemond, Betty S.
Robinson, Mrs. Clifton
Rogers, Martha Lockhart
Smith, Mrs. Ted
Summey, Mrs. "Warren
Sharpe, Mr. & Mrs. Wayland
Smith, Mrs. H. L.
Shope, Mrs. J. .
Shoaf, Mrs. Ted
Terrell, Mrs. Mary F.
Teer, Mrs. George
Teer, George, Jr.
Thomas, Mrs. 0. L.
Thomas, Mrs. Roy
Tatum, Mrs. Carolyn
Turner, Mrs. Bunn, Jr.
Turner, Mrs. Delma
Ward, Mrs. Ira
Warren, Mrs. Helen
Walker, Mrs. Frank
Williams, Mrs. Alton
Williams, P. R.
Walser, Mrs. R. C.
Whataker, Vera R.
Williams, Mrs. A. M.
Williams, Mrs. Peggy Jean
Worley, Annie L. Clark
Wright, Mrs. Donald
York, Ruby Laws
A map of Hillsborough, 1839, was found in papers of John C. Bailey,
Southern Historical Collection, U.N.C.
Rouhlac Place, N.E. Town
Dennis Heartt Residence
Dr. Long (Son-in-law of James Webb)
Dr. James Webb's residence * f-^"-
Dr. James Webb's Drug Store ^
Church Street (Now Tryon Street)
Hillsborough Methodist Church
Stephen Moore's Residence
(Now Dr. Murphy's Residence)
Kirkland's Tan Yard
Dennis Heartt Printing Shop
(Now A. H. Graham's Law Office)
Several Stores and Taverns
Mr Jr A r -LL Graham's residence — (J
Sam Kirkland's Residence.
R. O. Forrest, died 1959
J. L. Brown, died 1960
Mrs. O. L. Thomas
<•;•'■: •; :.,...• - ; :';i.; %'.-<-%@%fflg&
Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Turner
J. Clyde Ray
S. M. Gattis
Charles James, died 1957
Mr. "Speck" Faucette
A great friend of the young
people of Hillsboro
Dr. H. W. Moore
HISTORY OF THE
HILLSBOROUGH, N. C,
Hillsborough Presbyterian Church — 1816
(Picture furnished by Mrs. Alfred Engstrom.)
Showing "Old Session House" with steeple.
Presybterian Church Sanctuary — 1962
Dr. Bradshaw and Others at Picnic at Duke's Farm
THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Toward the close of the seventeenth century, Scotland was the scene
of endless commotions. Many of the Scotch, who were almost exclusively
Presbyterians, fled first to Holland and then to Ireland. After remaining
in Ireland a number of years they were driven to another country to
seek religious liberty, and they came directly from Ireland to this country.
They were called "Scotch-Irish."
About 1738 or 1739 thftse people settled along the Cape Fear, Black,
Tar, Haw, Little, Flat, and Eno Rivers. They at once built "Meeting
Houses" and services were held by members of the communities. Many
years passed before thy had settled ministers and organized churches.
On the Eno River such a place of worship was built. The church at
Cedar Grove bears the name of the river on the banks of which the
first Eno Presbyterian Church was built.
About the year 1790, there came a young Scotchman, William Kirk-
land, from Ayrshire, Scotland, to Hillsborough to engage in mercantile
pursuits. On the eve of Christmas 1792, he married Miss Margaret B.
Scott, and the following year, 1793, their oldest child, Anne, was born.
In 1799, he purchased the old Tew homestead, and lived there the re-
mainder of his life. Judge Ruffin, (an outstanding citizen of Hillsborough)
married Anne Kirkland December 7, 1809.
"Presbyterian" is the name of a Protestant denomination. The name
comes from a Greek word meaning "elder." The Presbyterian Church is
governed by its ministers and ruling "elders." The elders are elected by
the congregation and, together with the pastor, are entrusted with its
spiritual oversight. Deacons look after the poor, and trustees are in charge
of the church's finances.
The ruing courts, or juricatories, of the Presbyterian Church are
the sessions, the presbytery, the synod, and the General Assembly. A
"session," which is composed of the pastor and the ruling elders, governs
a congregation. A "presbytery" is made up of ministers and elders from
a limited district. A "synod" is made up of ministers and elders chosen
from the presbyteries in a still larger area. The high court of the Pres-
byterian Church is the General Assembly, which is composed of repre-
sentatives from every presbytery in the denomination. The General
Assembly, which meets once a year, exercises a general control over the
Presbyterian and Calvinistic Beliefs
The central idea is the absolute sovereignty of God. The supreme
standard of belief is the Bible. The subordinate standards of belief of the
Presbyterian Church in the United States are the Westminster Confessions
of Faith and the larger and shorter catechism, which were adopted in
1729. Membership required only a profession of faith in Jesus Christ
and of obedience to Him.
Presbyterian Church of Hillsborough
The Presbyterian Church was built by the people of the town and
was for everybody. The money used to build the church was secured by
means of a lottery which was authorized by the legislature. The present
church was built of English brick about 1816 to replace an old structure
erected by colonial Episcopalians. It is not known who organized this
church. The records of the early church were destroyed by fire when Rev.
Witherspoon's house was burned on January 1, 1827.
The cemetery near the church was laid out in 1754.
The Presbyterian services were first held in the old courthouse in
Hillsborough by Rev. David Caldwell, John Selok, and others. In 1777,
for the first time, regular services were held at Little River, New Hope,
The Presbyterian Church grounds, on August 20, 1775, served as a
meeting place for 184 delegates from every county in the colony of North
Carolina to discuss matters of government, taxation, military strength,
allegiance to the crown, and hostile Indians.
It is said that in this building, which fell into the hands of the
Presbyterians at the close of the American Revolution, affairs of the
State were settled. The town clock, given to Hillsborough by the King
of England, once hung in the shingled tower.
When the present Presbyterian Church was built, it did not have
Colored Members Received
On May 27, 1886, Haywood Craig was received on profession. On
November 17, 1895, Albert Long became a member by certificate from
New Hope Church.
The Hillsborough Recorder, 1861, gave a list of story books from the
Presbyterian Church of Hillsborough, as, follows:
Collatorial Bible, 4th Vol.
Hodge's History of Presbyterian Church
Cudsworth's Intellectual System, 1st Vol
Shakespeare, 2nd Vol., 8th Vol.
Reliques of Ancient English Poetry
HILLSBOROUGH PRESBYTERIAN) CHURCH
Hillsborough, North Carolina
HISTORY OF THE CHURCH IN BRIEF
Many years before a Presbyterian Church was organized n Hills-
borough, services were held by this denomination in the courthouse.
The Reverend David Caldwell was the first of many ministers who held
occasional services here, followed by the Revernd John DeBow and
others. By 1777 regular worship services were held in Hillsboro by the
Reverend Alexander McMillan, who also served the Little River and
New Hope Churches.
However, it was not until the Reverend John Knox Witherspoon
came to Hillsboro from Wilmington, North Carolina, in 1816, that a church
was organized. The present sanctuary was built, either in that year or
shortly before, with the consent of the town authorities, on a lot reserved
by them for a "church, a school house and a graveyard." Financial assis-
tance may have been secured for the project through a lottery, approved
by an act of the Legislature.
The lot on which the Confederate Memorial Library now stands, was
leased in the year 1836 for 99 years, for the sum of $100 paid to the
town Commissioners, by James Webb, for the purpose of erecting a
building to be used as a Sunday School room, under the care of the
Presbyterian Church. The building was later used as a Session House.
The Reverend John Knox Witherspoon was the first pastor of the
church, serving it from 1816 to 1833. The first book of minutes of the
Session of the Presbyterian Church in Hillsborough begins with "Articles
of Faith and Covenant," which were formulated and approved on the
organizational date, September 25, 1816. At the conclusion of the "Articles
of Faith and Covenant" are the following names of persons who were
the charter members.
John Witherspoon, ordained pastor of this church
September 25, 1816
Susan D. Witherspoon
Frederick Nash (Elder)
Mary G. Nash
James Phillips (Elder)
Ann A. Webb
Henry Thompson, Sr.
These nine members composed the first church roll, but pews were
rented to a much larger numbr. From 1816 to 1833 th Session was
often irregular in its meeting, and some years record but one meeting.
The records are principally taken up with the names of those who pre-
sented themselves before the Session for examination and admission to
the church, and of those who were called before the Session for "bringing
reproach upon the cause of Christ by their conduct." The latter disappeared
from the records after March 24, 1872, when the following resolution
After much thought and deliberation upon the subject the
Session respectfully recommends that the book of discipline of the
Presbyterian Church shall be so areldtered as to permit a member of
the church who is leading an unchristian life or entertaining re-
ligious opinions utterly inconsistent with our standards to withdraw
from the Communion table, and from membership in the church
without undergoing the regular trial at present prescribed for such
cases, and that Presbytery be requested to send an overture to
that effect to the General Assembly."
From that time on, people were left more and more to the dictates
of their own consciences as to their fitness for remaining a member of
the Presbyterian Church.
That the church had its struggles in those early days is proved by
a special record of thanksgiving made by the Reverend Mr. Witherspoon
in 1830, three years before the end of his seventeen years as pastor.
It reads, "The Lord hath not utterly forsaken us, but amidst our long
desolation hath again visited us with some token of his love and to His
name be all the glory." Mr. Witherspoon served the church for seven-
teen years, then moved to Hampdon-Sydney, Virginia, but later returned to
Hilllsboro, and at his death in 1853 was buried in the cemetery not far
from the door of the church.
The Reverend S. J. Price assumed the pastorate in 1834, serving
until 1835. The next to serve was the Reverend Robert Burwell, from
1835 until 1848. Early in his ministry he and Mrs. Burwell opened a
school for young women. This school, while he remained in Hillsborough,
was well patrnoized, enabling him to serve the church with a very small
salary. Miss Sally K. Nash, who was one of his assistants, continued
the school after Mrs. Burwell left Hillsborough, with the assistance of her
sister, Miss Maria Nash, and a relative, Miss Sarah Koljlock. A memorial
tablet on the wall of the present sanctuary bears this inscription: "Sacred
to the loving memory of Misses Nash and Miss Kollock, by their stu-
dents. Being dead yet speaketh. Hebrews 11:4. 1926."
The Reverend William B. Browne assumed the pastorate in- 1850,
serving until 1851. On his leaving the Reverend Robert Burwell again
served the church from 1851 until 1857. The Reverend P. A. Martin was
the next pastor and served from 1858 to 1861. Upon his leaving, the
Reverend H. B. Pratt came in 1861 and served until 1863. On October 4,
1863 Mr. Pratt gave notice of his expectation to serve in the Army for
the duration of the war, as soon as he could obtain a Chaplain's Com-
The Reverend Halbert G. Hill served the church as pastor from
1864 until 1866. The Reverend H. B. Pratt returned for a second pas-
torate during 1867 and 1868. The Reverend William C Smith was pastor
from 1869 to 1873. The Reverend James H. Fitzgerald came in 1874 and
served until 1881. In his history, Mr. Fitzgerald gives credit to the labors
of eminent evangelists for the increase in the membership of the church,
and mentions the names of the Reverend Nettleton, the Reverend Dan-
iel G. Russell, the Reverend Daniel Baker, and the Reverend Robert
McNeill. Mr. Fitzgerald goes on to say that no history of the church
would be complete without mention of the schools which have been
located here. The first school mentioned was taught by William J.
Bingham, a Ruling Elder of the church. He also says that while the
school was here, "one of its excellent teachers, John Bingham, became
a minister of the Gosel in the Presbyterian Church, but died soon after
entering upon his work." Other schools mentioned by Mr. Fitzgerald were
the Caldwell Institute and a school of which Mr. Ralph Graves was prin-
cipal, and one presided over by Colonel Tew. Mr. Fitzgerald goes on to
say that the schools mentioned were more particularly under Presby-
A brief pastorate was that of the Reverend J. L. Williamson, 1882
to 1883. At this time the church was grouped with the Chapel Hill Church.
In 1884 a beloved pastor, the Reverend W. F. Wilhelm, began his work
here and continued to serve the church until his death in 1893. Mr. Wil-
helm was buried in the cemetery near the church.
Th church was renovated in 1892, when the present unusual tower
was placed on the building. The Reverend H. S. Bradshaw occupied the
pulpit for six years following the death of Mr. Wilhelm, from 1894 to
1900. The Reverend J. S. Goodman served as pastor from 1901 until 1905.
He was followed by his predecessor, the Reverend H. S. Bradshaw, who
stayed to serve the longest pastorate in the church's history, from August
1894 to December 1900 in his first pastorate, and from April 1905 to
July 1938 in his last pastorate, a total of thirty-nine years. Dr. Bradshaw
was loved for his genial disposition and is remembered as an excellent
pastor and friend, who gave the best years of his life to the service of
the Hillsborough Presbyterian Church. At his death, Dr. Bradshaw was
buried in the cemetery, nearby the church he had served so long. His
wife, Mrs. Mary Nash Bradshaw, was church organist for a number of
years, and was active in other phases of the church's work.
In 1938 the Reverend S. Wilds DuBose began his nine year pastorate.
During this time Mrs. Mary Beard Bivins, now Mrs. Roy T. Sherrod, Jr.,
went as a full-time Christian worker from this church, after receiving her
Masters Degree at the Presbyterian School of Christian Education, Rich-
mond, Virginia. Mrs. Sherrod is the wife of a Presbyterian minister.
During the year 1943 contributions were first made toward a new edu-
cational building. Dr. DuBose served the church from 1938 until 1947,
when his resignation was sorrowfully accepted, as he and Mrs. DuBose had
endeared themselves, not only to the members of th church, but to the
community in general .
In 1947 the Reverend Irving E. Birdseye became pastor of the church.
A campaign in December of 1947 increased the building fund to half the
amount needed to start the new proposed educational unit. On May 10,
1948, with Messrs. Ben. G. Johnson, H. F. Latta, Sr., and D. Glenn Auman
as the Building Committee, with Edwin M. Lynch as treasurer, the build-
ing was begun. It was completed in November of 1948, and the debt
having been removed, was dedicated October 30, 1949. During Mr.
Birdseye's ministry, William J. Wrenn, Jr. became a candidate for
the gospel ministry. During this time a new Baldwin Organ was given to
the church by Mr. and Mrs. W. V. Fryer, in memory of R. H. Claytor, Sr.
The Fryer family also gave a new carpet for the pulpit and aisles of
In May 1953 the Reverend C. H. Reckard assumed the pastorate
and served the church until August 1960. During his ministry a new
addition to the physical plant was made in the form of a fellowship
hall, named Strudwick Hall in honor of Sheppard Strudwick. A new
manse was also built and occupied in early 1958. The drawings for both
the fellowship hall and the manse were made by Mr. Reckard. During
this period a children's choir was organized and directed by Mrs. R. D.
Copeland and Mrs. E. Wilson Cole, Jr.
On February 1, 1961 the Reverend James H. Wade came from Ashe-
boro, North Carolina, to be the minister of the Hillsborough Presbyterian
In the minutes of the meetings of the Session down through the
years, the names of Farrish, Kirkland, Heartt, Richards, Kenion, Claytor,
and many others, are mentioned in connection with the offices of Elder
and Deacon. Among the Clerks of the Session, the two serving the longest
terms were: John Norwood, from 1836 to 1884, and Sheppard Strudwick,
from 1904 to 1948. Mr. Strudwick also served as Sunday School Super-
intendent for a great many years, and Mrs. Strudwick was Choir Director
and Organist for a long period of time. At present the membership of
the church is 241. Much emphasis is being given to the youth groups of
According to other records A. D. Montgomery, an Elder, is listed
in Presbytery's records as having served several churches from 1822
until 1852 or later; John Bingham, mentioned earlier, who died shortly
after entering the ministry; Thomas Lynch who served a number of
churches in Orange Presbytery, beginning in the year 1825; and William
James Wren, Jr., who was licensed and ordained by Bethel Presbytery
of South Carolina, in the Fall of 1958.
Among the illustratious men buried in the walled cemetery, adjacent
to the church are: Wiliam Hooper, one of the three North Carolinians,
who represented the Colony at the signing and adoption of the Declaration
of Independence in 1776; Archibald DeBow Murphey, Professor and
Trustee of the State University, and a pioneer in the field of education;
John Knox Witherspoon, the first pastor of the church, and a grandson
of the famous Dr. John Witherspoon, signer of the Declaration of. Inde-
pendence and early President of Princeton University; William A. Graham,
one of North Carolina's most beloved Governors and a leader in the State,
and in national politics; John Berry, who was famous as a brick mason,
having built the old Courthhouse, the Masonic Lodge and several of the
church buildings which are still in use; and many others of worthy note.
The above were all Presbyterians except Mr. Hooper.
To those who worship in the church today, something of the presence
of those who toiled in other days seems to linger on. And, as the torch
falls from the hands of this generation, it is hoped that future genera-
tions will catch it, and bear it to greater heights for the glory of God and
the betterment of mankind.
By Eselle Anderson (Mrs. Alec T.) October 3, 1950, Revisions made
April 1, 1961.
John W. Witherspoon . . 1816-1833
S. J. Price 1834-1835
Robert Burwell 1836-1848
William B. Browne 1850-1851
Robert Burwell 1852-
P. A. McMartin 1856-1861
Henry B. Pratt 1861-1862
Halbert G. Hill 1863-1866
Henry B. Pratt 1867-1868
William C. Smith 1869-1873
Henry B. Pratt 1867-1868
William C. Smith 1869-1873
James H. Fitzgerald . 1873-1881
James L. Williamson . 1882-1883
N. F. Wilhelm 1884-1893
H. S. Bradshaw 1894-1900
J. N. Goodman 1901-1905
H S. Bradshaw 1905-1938
S. W. DuBose 1939-1947
I. E. Birdseye 1947-1953
J. H. Reckard 1953-1960
J. H. Wade 1961-
Prepared by: Mrs. R. R. Hooker
Brief Sketch of Rev. James H. Wade
1. Born in Williamston, West Virginia, March 18, 1914.
2.i Paternal ancestry from a long line of Scotch-Irish Presbyterians
who settled in the Valley of Virginia in Rockbridge County.
3. From three years of age and later, lived at Staunton, Virginia, where
he received elementary and high school education.
4. Graduated from Maryville College, Maryville, Tennessee in 1936 with
a B.A. degree, and from Union Theological Seminary, Richmond,
Virginia in 1939 with a B.D. degree.
5. Married Mary Elizabeth Mulcay of Augusta, Georgia in the spring
6. Two sons: James Houston Wade, Jr. born 1942
Thomas Calvin Wade born in 1944
7. Becoming a minister had been a lifelong desire.
8. Churches served: Sandston Presbyterian Church (1939-1944)
Woodlawn Presbyterian Church (1944-1950)
Cradock Presbyterian Church (1950-1953)
First Presbyterian Church (1953-1961)
Asheboro, North Carolina
Hillsborough Presbyterian Church (1961- )
9. The Hopewell and Asheboro churches were led in new church building
10. Hobbies: woodworking and gardening.
11. Became pastor of Hillsborough Presbyterian Church February 1, 1961.
Rev. Henry B. Pratt — 1867-1868
Rev. C. H. Reckard
Pastor — 1953 through Aug., 1960
Born Dec. 13, 1921, Huntington,
W. Va.; educated in public schools
there; B.S. Georgia Tech; B.D. and
Th.M. Louisville Presbyterian The-
ological Seminary. Married Maxine
Orndorff of Huntington 1949. Pas-
tor of Hillsborough Church, May
1953 through August 1960. Pres-
ently Asssociate Minister of Har-
vey Browne Memorial Presbyterian
Louisville, Kentucky. Three chil-
dren — Charles Michael, Rebecca
Hambrick, James Edward. Three
years Air Corps WW H as com-
munications officer. Captain.
Rev. James H. Wade
Presbyterian Church — 1816
The Hillsborough Presbyterian Church grounds were the scene of sev-
eral Revolutionary assembly meetings. In the cemetery are the graves
of William Hooper, William A. Graham, James Hogg, Sarah J.
Kollock, Archibald D. Murphy and many other prominent
Members Who Have Held Office in The Church
A. W. Kenion (Reacon)
Clerk of Superior Court for
Dr. C. D. Jones (Elder)
Physician for 50 years in
Hillsborough, N. C.
R. H. Claytor Elder)
Superintendent of Orange County
Sidney Green Elder)
Superintendent of Eno Cotton
Four generations of Kirkland Family, who were faithful members
of the Hillsborough Presbyterian Church.
John U. Kirkland
(Grandfather of Sam Kirkland)
John W. Kirkland, Jr.
(Father of Sam Kirkland)
Sam S. Kirkland
Hillsborough Presbyterian Manse
E. M. Lynch (Deacon)
Clerk of Superior Court
Mr. Shepperd Strudwick
Mr. S. Strudwick, Mrs. Strudwick, Shepperd and Edmond Strudwick,
Mr. Strudwick served 58 years as an elder. Superintendent of the
Sunday School for 40 years, Office of Clerk of the Session for 44
years (longer than any other in the Church's history) and at his
death he was the oldest member of the church. He gained a reputation
as a wood carver, in his later life, and carved the beautiful crosses
in the Presbyterian and Methodist Sanctuaries, along with many
other things of beauty.
^%0l&f** l *»*.
R. R. Hooker
Born July, 1880. (Elder). Prepared
the list of preachers and the dates
served Hillsborough Presbyterian
Dr. B. N. Roberts (Elder)
Born — Hillsborough. Educated
Hillsborough High School, UNC,
and University of Maryland.
Practiced medicine in Hills-
borough for about 34 years.
HILLSBOROUGH PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Hillsborough, N. C.
(ROLL OF RESIDENT MEMBERS — OCTOBER, 1961)
— Prepared by Rev. James H. Wade
Mr. and Mrs. Bernard F. Allison, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Alec T. Anderson
Miss Alice Anderson
Mr. and Mrs. D. Glenn Auman
Muriel Victor Auman
Catherine Graham Auman
Mr. and Mrs. David H. Baird
Martha Karen Baird
David Hamilton Baird, Jr.
Mrs. Nancy G. Barbour
Stewart Gordon Barbour
Mr. and Mrs. Ed P. Barnes
Ed Ray Barnes
Joseph Wilson Barnes
Frana Kay Barnes
Mr. and Mrs. L. E. Beard
Mr. and Mrs. John L. Bell
John Logan Bell, Jr.
Sarah Louise Bell
Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Blackwelder
Charles Frances Blackwelder
Mr. and Mrs. Ned D. Blackwelder
Mr. and Mrs. Wm. R. Blackwelder
Mr. and Mrs. Harry P. Breeze
Curtis P. Brown
Mr. and Mrs. Edward S. Brown
Mrs. Fred Brown
T. Carroll Brown
Harry L. Brown
Harry Neal Brown
Mr. and Mrs. C. Scott Cates
Patricia Anne Cates
Mrs. Fred S. Cates, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. Fred S. Cates, Jr.
Elizabeth Bryant Cates
Dianne Vaunceil Cates
Herbert J. Cates
Hugh Marion Cates
Mr. and Mrs. John Wm. Cates, Sr.
Eugenia Marie Cates
Mr. and Mrs. Macon J. Cates
Michael Fred Cates
Mrs. Louise R. Clayton
Mr. and Mrs. Oliver D. Clayton
Mailing Address Street
St. Mary's Rd.
W. Queen St.
W. Tryon St.
US 70A East
St. Mary's Rd.
St. Mary's Rd.
W. Tryon St.
St. Mary's Rd.
E. Tryon St.
W. Union St.
US 70A East
US 70A East
W. Union St.
St. Mary's Rd.
Orange Gr. Rd
W. Union St.
E. Tryon St.
US 70A West
William Patrick Clayton
Olivia Ann Clayton
Mrs. R. H. Claytor, Sr.
Fred T. Claytor
Robert H. Claytor, Jr.
Mrs. O. P. Cole
Mr. and Mrs. E. Wilson Cole, Jr.
Wm. Gordon Cole
Mr. and Mrs. R. D. Copeland
Robert Daniel Copeland, Jr.
Thomas Graham Copeland
Mrs. Susan Correll
Mr. and Mrs. Carl C. Davis
Mr. and Mrs. John Wm. Dickson
George W. Dickson
Mr. and Mrs. Roger R. Drowns
Mrs. J. D. Eskridge
Joseph D. Eskridge, Jr.
Judith Lee Eskridge
Mr. and Mrs. James M. Field
Mr. and Mrs. Charles F. Floyd
Mrs. Louise Forrest
Mr. and Mrs. Felix Forrest
Mary Va. Forrest
Mr. and Mrs. Homer G. Forrest
Dr. and Mrs. Clarence E. Gardner,
Mr. and Mrs. Marcus A. Barriss
Mr. and Mrs. James R. Gates
Mr. and Mrs. Sydney Green
Mrs. H. E. Gulick
Mr. and Mrs. Ed J. Hamlin
Emily Louise Hamlin
Mr. and Mrs. Clyde T. Hardy
Mrs. Gertrude Newman Hinshaw
and Miss Fannie Newman
Mr. and Mrs. D. E. Hollandsworth
Martha Ann Hollandworth
Mr. and Mrs. Robert R. Hooker
Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Hughes
Joseph Paisley Hughes, Jr.
Mrs. George Hunt
Mr. and Mrs. Ben G. Johnston
Mr. and Mrs. Clarence D. Jones
C. Dupre Jones, III
Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Joyner
Mrs. A. W. Kenion
W. King St.
US 70A East
St. Mary's Rd.
Yancey Rest Hm.
E. Queen St.
Orange Gr. Rd.
US 70A East
St. Mary's Rd.
Mt. View Estates
St. Mary's Rd.
E. Union St.
Gov. Burke Rd.
St. Mary's Rd.
Mt. View Estates
Mt. View Estates
W. King St.
St. Mary's Rd.
W. Queen St.
St. Mary's Rd.
St. Mary's Rd.
W. King St.
W. King St.
US 70A East
Mary Frances Kenion
Mrs. Thomas S. Kenion
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel S. Kirkland
Mrs. Faquard Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Harold F. Latta
Mr. and Mrs. Lantham E. Latta
Paul Womble Latta
Mark Lantham Latta
Lois Ann Latta
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel T. Latta, HI
Mr. and Mrs. Tommy Leonard
Mrs. T. E. Lloyd
Mrs. Thomas E. Lynch
Edwin M. Lynch
Mr. and Mrs. Wm. F. Lynch
James Wm. Lynch
Mr. and Mrs. J. Harlton McKee
Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Montgomery
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Murphy, Jr.
Anne Frazier Murphy
Karen T. Murphy
Mrs. Ralph Neighbours
Stephen R. Neighbors
Mrs. Eleanor N. Newman
Mrs. D. E. Patterson, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Fatterson
Mr. and Mrs. Hal Patterson
Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Ray, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. J. Marvin Ray
James P. Ray
Mrs. B. N. Roberts
Franz Joseph Roberts
Dr. Marion B. Roberts
Bryan W. Roberts
Mr. and Mrs. Robert B. Roberts
Wayne B. Roberts
Zephaniah R. Roberts
Kenneth B. Roberts
Mrs. Owen S. Robertson
Mrs. Jerome Rosemond
Mr. and Mrs. Remus J. Smith, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. Remus J. Smith, Jr.
Mrs. T. P. Smith
Thurston Perry Smith, Jr.
Mrs. Wallace Strayhorn
Jimmy Lawrence Strayhorn
Michael Wallace Strayhorn
W. King St.
St. Mary's Rd.
NC 57 Highway
NC 57 Highway
NC 57 Highway
Orange Gr. Rd.
E. Tryon St.
E. King St.
W. Queen St.
E, Queen St.
St. Mary's Rd.
W. Tryon St.
US 70A East
NC 86 North
E. Tryon St.
W. King St.
W. Queen St.
E. Union St.
Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Walter Teer
Seymour Eugene Teer
Mrs. R. N. Terrell
Mrs. W. O. von Staudt
Mrs. James H. Wade
James Houston Wade, Jr.
Thomas Calvin Wade
Mr. and Mrs. Carston R. Wagner
Mrs. A. H. Walker, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. Allen H. Walker, Jr.
Mrs. Billy F. Wilkerson
Mr. and Mrs. Kay C. Wineciff
Mr. and Mrs. Wm. J. Wrenn, Sr.
Box 43 8
US 70A East
US 70A East
E. Union St.
E. Tryon St.
E. Queen St.
W. King St.
W. Tryon St.
Mr. L. E. Beard
Member of the Presbyterian
Church for many years.
30 years Elder of the Church.
President of Bellevue Mill.
J. Kenneth Dickson
Mrs. Marjorie Still Farrell
Edmund Oliver Kenion
Mrs. Frank W. Lamb (Mrs. Alice Cates)
Mrs. George Lynch
Mrs. Shirley Joyner Martin
Raleigh, N. C.
Chapel Hill, N. C.
Candor, N. C.
Greensboro, N. C.
Greensboro, N. C.
Durham, N. C.
Charlotte, N. C.
Mrs. Annie Laura Blackwelder Perdue
Mrs. J. W. Powell (Fat Montgomery)
Paul J. Ranson
Wallace Elliott Robinson
Mrs. Sarah Anne Eskridge Sugg
Mrs. Ruth Blackwelder Terry
Robert Lee Utsman (in Service)
Mrs. Martha Wrenn Weiss
Joseph Christopher Wrenn
Mr. and Mrs. H. S. McDonald
C. D. Jones
Born Hillsborough, N. C, Edu-
cated H.H. School, U.N.C., Own-
er of Western Auto Store. Has
served on the Orange County
School Board and as County
Greensboro, N. C
Durham, N. C.
Spray, N. C.
Durham, N. C.
Durham, N. C.
Washington, D. C
Greensboro, N. C.
Mayor Ben G. Johnston.
Mayor May, 1933 to June 1961.
The most popular mayor that
our town has ever had. Mr.
Johnston served the town well
and many improvements were
made while he was the town
William Alexander Graham (1804-1875)
Governor, Secretary of Navy. Born Lincoln County. Graduated U.N.C.,
1824. Began practice of law in Hillsborough, 1825. He was a member of
the general assembly (speaker of House for two terms). United States
Senator. Governor, 1845-1849. Secretary of Navy under Fillmore (1850-
1853). Whig nominee for vice president. Confederate Senator.
Gov. William A. Graham — 1845
Signer of Declaration of
William Hooper (1741-1790)
Signer Declaration of Independence. Born Boston, Mass. Graduated
Harvard. Moved to Wilmington, 1767, and practiced law. Member Con-
tinental Congress. Signer of Declaration of Independence. Revolutionary
leader. Moved his family from Wilmington to Hillsborough during the
Revolutionary War and made Hillsborough his permanent residence in
1781, where he died in 1790. He is buried in the old town cemetery,
now the Presbyterian Church cemetery.
Hillsborough Confederate ^Library — Built 1934
The only library in the U.S.A. that has the name
The lot on which the Confederate Memorial Library now stands,
was leased in the year 1836 for 99 years, for the sum $100.00 paid to
the town commissioners, by Dr. James Webb, for the purpose of erecting a
building to be used as a Sunday School room, under the care of the
Presbyterian Church. The building was later used as the town library
until 1934. This was called the "Session House" because the Presbyterian
Sessions were held in this building.
Dr. M. B. Roberts— 1958
Educated Hillsborough HLS.,
U.N.C., and University of Mary
land. Member Presbyterian
Dr. M. B. Roberts first prac-
ticed medicine in Burlington, N. C.
A few years later moved to Star,
N. C. He came to Hillsborough in
the year 1938. His office has al-
ways been located over James
HISTORY OF THE
FOR COLORED PEOPLE
COLORED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
The following is the deed to the Colored Presbyterian Church:
George W. Brodie and Charlotte L. Brodie (wife of Georg?) — Wash-
ington City, District of Columbia, sold to J. Nichols and B. F. Murray,
Trustees of the Colored Presbyterian Church in the Town of H'llsborough,
County of Orange in the State of North Carolina. They paid twenty-five
dollars of lawful money of the United S ates for a certain parcel of land,
a lot lying in the town ofHillsborough, Orange County, State of North
Carolina, Lot No. 201. Beginning at the nor h-east corner of Gordon's
line on County Line Street running east 42 feet to the lot sold to one
Lucinda Morrow. Thence running sou'h along said line of said lot 75
feet. Thence 42 feet to Gordon's Line. Thence North along said line
75 feet to County Line Street, the place of beginning.
G. W. Brodie (Seal)
Howard N. Norris — No'ary Public
Geo. Laws — Clerk of Superior Court
Charlotte C. Brodie (Seal)
August 31, 1877
From: Book No. 45
Page No. 488
In the early maps of Hillsborough the names of some of the streets
were different from the names now used. The street called County Line
is now known as Orange Street. The street called Church Street is now
known as Tryon Street. The first Methodist Church (for white people)
was located on the east end of Tryon Street. In 1825 it was known as
The Presbyterian Church was built about 1878 with the help of
some white people. The main leaders were as follows: Ellison, Bolden,
Morrow, Richmond, Webb, etc. Bill Bolden was the organist. The church
was never strong in membership or money. As the members died, there
were not enough young members to take the'r place.
Following the death of so many of the older members, the members
that were left were unable to carry on the work that should be done. The
church was closed about the year 1928.
James Collins bought the church and land about the year 1942.
Fate Richmond Annie Morrow
Julia Richmond Anderson Morrow
Bruce Allison John Webb
Mary Allison J. Nichols
Bill Bolden B. F. Murray
Emma Bolden (The only one now Rev. White — Pastor
Presbyterian Church — Drawn by Rev. Archie McCulIers
METHODIST CHURCH (See Page 98)
Built 1859 by Captain John Berry
NEW CEDAR GROVE CHURCH— 1937 (See Page 108)
t- c- ininq^qNo co o
in in co"m 10 co cq comia
CO i-H 00 CO CM
I> ! O ■* Oi lf5 m <tf CO IHNH
! INHH CM CiOO
icowohco :oo cmi-hc-
! i-l CO ! r-i CO
! :oo i o
! i mo : co
! ! CMC© CM
! »H !
CO IC-CC* CN
! ' '
i-l iH r-t
m m o cn oo m
in i> co m m t^
MHH i— 1
HrtH CMCM CO'*
O CO »- 1 © OS CO
i-ICOIN (M tH
: co t-i
csi co co <* i-i co :i-hco ;
i— l CD CM "* i— I "tf 1
CO CD (M 050C35
co co i> in co r-
! <M r- 1 ; CO CO
co r — "roOH
E- CO CO O E- CO
; in co (N in : o
in^n coco ©
i CO © !
cm co co co cm i-i ih com
i-i co cm ^ i-i in
cm in i i-i co
CM CM »H CM i-l i-l CM r-t i r-t
i-<cDcoasa5CMcc< incoc-oocRO i-i
CDCO©CD©I>I^r E- t> C~ E- E— CO CO
OGCOCOCCCCCCOCO CO CO CC CC CC CO CO
Anderson, Mrs. Alec, Article on History of the Hillsborough Presby-
Asbury, Herbert. The Life of Bishop Asbury.
Bailey, J. C. A map of Hillsborough, 1839
Blackwelder, Ruth. The Age of Orange.
Boss, Rev. Nelson R., M.A. The Prayer Book Reason Why.
Cheshire, Bishop. History of St. Matthew's Episcopal Church.
Duke University Library.
Ellis, Mrs. A. A. and Mr. T. C. History of Eno Presbyterian Church.
Grisson, W. L. History of Methodism.
Hamilton, J. G. DeRoulhoe. The Papers of Thomas Ruffin.
Harris, J. L. A Letter.
Hickerson, Thomas Felix. Happy Valley.
"Hillsborough Recorder" — 1861
Holt, Glenn. Report of the Hillsboro Baptist Church
Lefler and Wager. Orange County — 2 752 to 1952.
Maddry, C. E. History of the First Baptist Church of Hillsborough.
Maddry, C. E. Life of Dr. C. E. Maddry.
Nash, Francis. Hillsborough, Colonial and Revolutionary* 1 , The Na-
tional Council — Episcopal Church. [
"News and Observer"
North Carolina Conference Historial Society.
Pupils of Grade Six, Hillsboro Public School — 1927-28. The Historic
Town of Hillsborough.
Records in St. Matthew's Episcopal Church.
Register Deeds Office — Hillsborough, N. C.
Sellers, Hazel. Faith of our Fathers.
Treasurer's Book — Hillsborough Methodist Church.
World Book Encyclopedia
U. N. C. Library